Page 1 of 1

3.10 - Strange Message something about 'Desktop.H'

Posted: Thursday 30th November 2017 8:11pm
by pbea1220
Hello - New here . . .

I use an app that is quite mature. It was moved over from VB to Gambas 1.0 and added to whenever something new came along or I have some spare time to add a new feature.

Yesterday when I started up the IDE it failed. I used F8 but almost immediately it failed with the following message. The app has not been worked on for at least a week. The compiled app works.

'Desktop.H is incorrectly overridden in class 'Desktop'

I cannot even guess what this means. I have no idea what 'Desktop.H' is pointing to. A guess would be screen height but the monitor has not changed. I did download a large bunch of updates. That could have caused it.

Some history:

I copied the directory to a new name and I loaded a backup from about one hour before. Same message. I loaded a backup from about one week before. No message. I came down to loading a backup from the day before. No message. So something happened from the time I shut down the day before.

I did a directory compare from the day before and the only difference were the file dates.

This is one huge app and I do not want to rebuild it. I do not want it to happen again.

Anyone knows or can make a guess?

Thanks.

P.

ps: I did enjoy the WhiteIslandSoftware(?) site. I hope you are as successful.

Re: 3.10 - Strange Message something about 'Desktop.H'

Posted: Friday 1st December 2017 7:30am
by stevedee
pbea1220 wrote: Thursday 30th November 2017 8:11pm ... or can make a guess?
I really have no idea. If it happened to me, I'd try menu Project > Compile All as this has fixed a few strange problems for me in the past.

What version of Gambas are you using?

Are you able to upload your project here? I'm sure one or two of us would be interested in trying to load & run it for you to see if we can see anything.

Re: 3.10 - Strange Message something about 'Desktop.H'

Posted: Friday 1st December 2017 9:55pm
by pbea1220
stevedee Thank You for the reply. I really appreciated it.

I am using 3.10 since it was available on Kubuntu.

Project > Compile All was for naught. Same message. Thank You.

The app is 1.6mb and reads from about ten data and config files. One of my failings has been to not add a start-up mode to run without databases. Even the data files are my own design.

I'll keep searching. I will try GTK and qt4 forums. Maybe it is very low level.

Thank You again for your assistance.

I have attached a capture of the opening scene. FYI

Re: 3.10 - Strange Message something about 'Desktop.H'

Posted: Friday 1st December 2017 10:16pm
by jornmo
Have you made a Class file named Desktop?

Re: 3.10 - Strange Message something about 'Desktop.H'

Posted: Saturday 2nd December 2017 12:24am
by pbea1220
Thank You for the reply jornmo.

That's good I had not thought about that.

Unfortunately the app has no class files.

I did a project search and the only 'Desktop' that showed up was
" ' someone uses it
Try TextArea1.Text = Conv(TextArea1.Text, System.Charset, Desktop.Charset)
If Error Then
TextArea1.Text = Conv(TextArea1.Text, "ISO_8859-1", Desktop.Charset)
End If
"
No .class files were found.

Thanks.

Re: 3.10 - Strange Message something about 'Desktop.H'

Posted: Saturday 2nd December 2017 5:34am
by Quincunxian
Desktop (gb.desktop)
This class allows you to use desktop-agnostic routines based on the freedesktop standards and the xdg-utils scripts of the Portland project.
http://gambaswiki.org/wiki/comp/gb.desktop/desktop

This does not solve your problem but may point you in the right direction.
It may be a problem with qt4 but I am guessing at this point.

From the Gambas website:
Desktop.H (gb.qt4)
Static Property Read H As Integer
A synonymous of the Height property.

Have a look at your Project - Properties - Components and see if gbDesktop is checked.
If you uncheck and recompile, it may tell you the element that is actually broken.

Re: 3.10 - Strange Message something about 'Desktop.H'

Posted: Saturday 2nd December 2017 5:59pm
by pbea1220
Quincunxian Thank You for the help.

You may have answered this post successfully or come very close to the problem.

The app does not use gb.Desktop or gb.Desktop.x11 but I did research the '.H' (interchangeable with .Height) and as I suspected it has something to do with the screen height. I have never used this component but I do see options that could replace some source code. Thank You.

I added the two components to my project and the message is gone. I don't know why but to confuse the issue further I removed the two components to see whether the issue was reproducible. No message.

I suspect somewhere a 'leak' happened. This is too far up the food chain for me to diagnose.

It has gone away and I know of a workaround so I'm happy.

Thank You all for your assistance.

I'll keep in touch.

P.

Re: 3.10 - Strange Message something about 'Desktop.H'

Posted: Sunday 3rd December 2017 9:46am
by jornmo
Super! It might have been some unwanted remnant that got flushed out somehow...