Writing a simple text file

Post your Gambas programming questions here.
tcoulon

Writing a simple text file

Post by tcoulon »

Hello. I'm totaly new to Gambas, and although I did some programming in RealBasic (which I am trying to port to Gambas) I can't say I'm a good programmer.

I've tried to understand something rather basic, but I can't manage it in Gambas: writing a simple text file.

I have the following code:

(...)
mainfilename As String
hFile As File

Public Sub Main()
(...)
hFile = <filename> For Write Create
Write #hFile, <string to write>
Close #hFile

I get "Access forbidden". All I can find about this is "The requested access to the file is not allowed, or search permission is denied for one of the directories in the path prefix of pathname, or the file does not exist yet and write access to the parent directory is not allowed."

As access rights to the program's folder are OK (and I understand the file would be created there). So I guess I can't simply use a string variable as a file name?

Thierry
jornmo
Site Admin

Re: Writing a simple text file

Post by jornmo »

Hi and welcome to the forum!

You need to open the file stream first.
Check out the example on the bottom of this page:
http://gambaswiki.org/wiki/lang/open
cogier
Site Admin

Post by cogier »

Hi and welcome.

If I read your request correctly there is a very easy way to do this in Gambas. The reason you are getting "Access forbidden" is because you are trying to write your file to the root directory which you are not allowed to do. Your 'Home' directory is the place to save your file and Gambas can point to that with 'User.Home'. Have a look at the code below, if you run it you will find that a new file "MyFile.txt" has been created in your Home folder. Also notice the '&/' which will sort out the necessary '/' needed in the path. (It can also remvove too many '/' if required.)
Public Sub Main()
Dim sTextForFile As String = "Hello world\nThis will end up in your file"