help converting function from vb6 to gambas

Post your Gambas programming questions here.
Tiberius

help converting function from vb6 to gambas

Post by Tiberius »

Hello, Im very new to Gambas3. I used to write simple VB6 as a hobby some time ago. I want to switch to Gambas.

Can someone help me convert a function a wrote several years ago from VB6 to Gambas3?
'Random letters in a string
Public Function X(ByVal sdata As String)
Dim OldWord As String
Dim NewWord As String
Dim temp As String
OldWord = sdata
While Not OldWord = vbNullString
Dim RandomPosition As Integer = StrRnd(Len(OldWord))
Dim RandomLetter As String = Mid(OldWord, RandomPosition, 1)
NewWord = NewWord + RandomLetter
For i = 1 To RandomPosition - 1
temp = temp + Mid(OldWord, i, 1)
Next
For j = RandomPosition + 1 To Len(OldWord)
temp = temp + Mid(OldWord, j, 1)
Next
OldWord = temp
temp = Nothing
End While
If Not NewWord = sdata Then
X = NewWord
Else
X(NewWord)
End If
End Function
Function StrRnd(ByVal i)
Dim x As Integer
Randomize()
StrRnd = Int((Val(i) * Rnd()) + 1)
End Function
grayghost4

Re: help converting function from vb6 to gambas

Post by grayghost4 »

perhaps a little reading will help :

http://wordpress.gambas.one/

several good starter books

If you have an ereader ... this is a good book

https://www.amazon.com/Beginners-Guide- ... =8-1-fkmr0
Tiberius

Post by Tiberius »

thanks for the quick reply i will look into it.
grayghost4

Post by grayghost4 »

as you move through the program it will give the syntax for each function

Godzilla

Post by Godzilla »

Tiberius, welcome to Gambas. I also came from enjoying VB6 for years, and missing it terribly. Gambas is a godsend.

I played around with your functions and i got them to work. I had to take some liberties to change things around a bit. For example, "Temp" is already a built-in function in Gambas. And "X" for the name of a function is a bit too general, in my opinion. Anyways, on to the code: