Has anyone used Gambas Script?

Post your Gambas programming questions here.
Post Reply
User avatar
stevedee
Posts: 518
Joined: Monday 20th March 2017 6:06pm

Has anyone used Gambas Script?

Post by stevedee »

I must admit I have never given Gambas script much thought, and may even have considered it to be feeble and irrelevant, while not actually bothering to take a look at it.

But on a recent 'nothing-on-tv' night, I spent a couple of hours exploring what it could do. And "surprise-surprise" it turns out to be quite powerful, especially as you can use Gambas components within your code.

If I'd have known about this when I was building my internet radios, I probably would have tried writing the code using Gambas script rather than Python.

So I was just wondering if any of you have created any Gambas script applications or if you have found any other use for it?




As usual (because of my unreliable memory) I've written up my notes on my blog, so that I wont have to work it all out again at some point in the future!
http://captainbodgit.blogspot.com/2019/ ... ripts.html
User avatar
Technopeasant
Posts: 140
Joined: Saturday 13th July 2019 6:50pm
Location: Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: Has anyone used Gambas Script?

Post by Technopeasant »

I have never heard of Gambas script. How is it different from normal Gambas?
Technical director,
Piga Software
http://icculus.org/piga/
User avatar
stevedee
Posts: 518
Joined: Monday 20th March 2017 6:06pm

Re: Has anyone used Gambas Script?

Post by stevedee »

Technopeasant wrote: Saturday 14th December 2019 4:51am ...How is it different from normal Gambas?
Gambas scripts can be written using any text editor. Its an interpreted language, which means the interpreter just appears to run the text file at run-time (rather like Python).

So 'Hello World' looks like this:-

Code: Select all

#!/usr/bin/env gbs3
Print "Hello World!"
...and is run in a terminal like this:-

Code: Select all

./mygambasscript
Take a look at my blog post for more details.
User avatar
Technopeasant
Posts: 140
Joined: Saturday 13th July 2019 6:50pm
Location: Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: Has anyone used Gambas Script?

Post by Technopeasant »

Cool, though wanting to have easy access to a GUI designer is why I use Gambas over Python in the first place. :D
Technical director,
Piga Software
http://icculus.org/piga/
Post Reply