Compiling on ALL supported distros

PJBlack
Posts: 29
Joined: Tuesday 09th June 2020 10:26pm

Re: Compiling on ALL supported distros

Post by PJBlack » Friday 16th October 2020 7:09pm

script runs succesfull but did not delete g3make_temp ...

User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 156
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm

Re: Compiling on ALL supported distros

Post by BruceSteers » Friday 16th October 2020 7:14pm

PJBlack wrote:
Friday 16th October 2020 7:08pm
2 files

10-installer which give rights for the group wheel
ctdb which give rights to rpc
and
(g3make_temp) no idea where it come from ;)
lol, guilty as charged ;)

i better load up the old Manjaro and test it. I've only tested it on mint.
Last edited by BruceSteers on Friday 16th October 2020 7:16pm, edited 2 times in total.
If at first you don't succeed , try it differently.

User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 156
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm

Re: Compiling on ALL supported distros

Post by BruceSteers » Friday 16th October 2020 7:20pm

PJBlack wrote:
Friday 16th October 2020 7:09pm
script runs succesfull but did not delete g3make_temp ...
Bugger it should do.
I've set it to delete it at all exit points and also added a handler to catch Ctrl-C presses to make sure it deletes it then too.

It just ran without problem for me on Mint and removed the g3make_temp file.

I'll get on Manjaro and check it out.
Thank you for letting me know :)
If at first you don't succeed , try it differently.

User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 156
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm

Re: Compiling on ALL supported distros

Post by BruceSteers » Friday 16th October 2020 7:57pm

BruceSteers wrote:
Friday 16th October 2020 7:20pm
PJBlack wrote:
Friday 16th October 2020 7:09pm
script runs succesfull but did not delete g3make_temp ...
I'll get on Manjaro and check it out.
Thank you for letting me know :)
I'm running Manjaro now.
I didn't get asked for password again after applying the fix :-\

I think the
if [ -e "/etc/sudoers.d/g3make_temp" ]
couldn't get permission to test
So I've changed it to do "ls /etc/sudoers.d/" with sudo

I can confirm , yes it didn't delete ,, now it does :)

new file has been uploaded to "testing" branch.

Ps. if you want to test it launch it and answer yes to upping sudo timeout but don't answer yes to anything after just Ctrl-C at some point.
If at first you don't succeed , try it differently.

PJBlack
Posts: 29
Joined: Tuesday 09th June 2020 10:26pm

Re: Compiling on ALL supported distros

Post by PJBlack » Saturday 17th October 2020 12:26am

testing ...

- by entering manually the git directory ~/ is not expanded to /home/user
- i know i'm a annoying pain in the ass but [TAB] auto complete either don't work
(try: read -e -p "Prompt: " VAR)
- even if git pull claims nothing to do the script runs through

BUT

- /etc/sudoers is cleaned up

User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 156
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm

Re: Compiling on ALL supported distros

Post by BruceSteers » Saturday 17th October 2020 11:46am

PJBlack wrote:
Saturday 17th October 2020 12:26am
testing ...

- by entering manually the git directory ~/ is not expanded to /home/user
- i know i'm a annoying pain in the ass but [TAB] auto complete either don't work
(try: read -e -p "Prompt: " VAR)
- even if git pull claims nothing to do the script runs through

BUT

- /etc/sudoers is cleaned up
i didn't know about the ~/ thing , I'm guessing it's not an automatic feature and i'll have to add the code to translate it.

I didn't know about 'read -e' but i'm bloody glad i do now as i couldn't even use the left arrow to edit a pasted string but it works using -e :) cheers for that, will add it to the path inputs :)

You're far from an annoying pita , I really appreciate your input, thank you.

git pull just checks for newer commits before compiling as normal.
The script runs as would regardless of updates.
Are you thinking like a "check for updates" mode where it can check for new commits and recompile if yes but do nothing if no?
That's not a bad idea but not currently how the script works.

and Yay , sudo resets :) that's a relief , it's a dodgy practice playing with sudo i think. wouldn't want to leave anyone at risk.
I've got a feeling i can make it more "specific" ie. only make the timeout rule apply for certain programs like 'make' and certain user names.
that would make things safer.

Thanks fella , much obliged :)
Bruce

Ps. have uploaded new ver 2.5.4, now uses read -e and handles ~/ homedir :)
If at first you don't succeed , try it differently.

User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 156
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm

Re: Compiling on ALL supported distros

Post by BruceSteers » Sunday 18th October 2020 1:16am

Version 3.0 preview ...

Not finished but it's getting upgraded to set various options before you start.
Attachments
snap.png
snap.png (125.81 KiB) Viewed 182 times
If at first you don't succeed , try it differently.

PJBlack
Posts: 29
Joined: Tuesday 09th June 2020 10:26pm

Re: Compiling on ALL supported distros

Post by PJBlack » Sunday 18th October 2020 1:29pm

:o :shock:

yesterday i was playing around with dialog, xdialog, kdialog und yad because i had the same idea ... but found that was nothing what i'm looking for ... i stopped working for "gassirunde" and after that i go to bed BUT thinking of realizing that with plain shell codes ... and now you are nearly finished

man ... you are unbelievable ... will you marry me ? (no idea how to explain that to my wife, but ... who cares)

User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 156
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm

Re: Compiling on ALL supported distros

Post by BruceSteers » Sunday 18th October 2020 2:06pm

PJBlack wrote:
Sunday 18th October 2020 1:29pm
:o :shock:

yesterday i was playing around with dialog, xdialog, kdialog und yad because i had the same idea ... but found that was nothing what i'm looking for ... i stopped working for "gassirunde" and after that i go to bed BUT thinking of realizing that with plain shell codes ... and now you are nearly finished

man ... you are unbelievable ... will you marry me ? (no idea how to explain that to my wife, but ... who cares)
:lol:
Haha, lets just have a remote affair.

ooh i never knew of the command dialog might have a look at that to see if i can remove the need for zenity to browse.

Alas not nearly finished yet , i've built the menu system now i think it's about ready to integrate the functions from the script into it.

have attached the new script if you want to have a look at the code :)
It does not really do anything yet like i say it's just the menu system at present.
Attachments
test_options.zip
(4.39 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
If at first you don't succeed , try it differently.

User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 156
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm

Re: Compiling on ALL supported distros

Post by BruceSteers » Thursday 22nd October 2020 12:09pm

Okay then ... updated....

Now there are 2 scripts.

One is for first time setting the directory up, doing any git cloning or curl downloading/unpacking zips and installing all the dependencies according to the .gitlab-cl.yml file..
(unless you've already done that bit)

The other one assumes you now have a Gambas3 source directory on your disk and is for updating/compiling/installing.

Differences now are...
Settings saving. your distro, the gambas source dir and various options are now saved so only asked at first run.
So once first run and you've answered the "what's my distro" question and seen the welcome screen and set your directory the next time it goes straight to the following window (the lower one)...
Screenshot_2020-10-22_12-46-36.png
Screenshot_2020-10-22_12-46-36.png (228.96 KiB) Viewed 134 times
In that screenshot, a new instance of the script is running in the black lower terminal while another instance is running in the upper terminal doing an update for me.

On the main opions screen you can set various options like disabling the ./config-all option, make a desktop icon, etc

Has "update mode" where it does a 'git pull' and if no updates download it does nothing.

Has not been fully tested yet and yesterday gambas almost DESTROYED it for me :(
I have a text editor i made using the TextEditor control and it turns out if you select "gambas" highlight mode for the TextEditor it does not just Highlight the code it completely reformats it gambas style.
Hadn't noticed it did it when i saved the file. Messed everything right up and i've spent all morning fixing it :(
Attachments
Gambas3-Compile-and-Install.zip
(10.81 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
If at first you don't succeed , try it differently.

Post Reply