Qt6

Post your Gambas programming questions here.
AndyGable
Posts: 363
Joined: Wednesday 2nd December 2020 12:11am
Location: Northampton, England
Contact:

Re: Qt6

Post by AndyGable »

Ok I have managed to get QT5 to install with the following commands
  • apt install gambas3-qb-qt5
    apt install gambas3-qb-qt5-x11
But now when I run a program I get the following message on the screen

Image

I am not sure what to do? should I wipe the machine and start again?
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1578
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Qt6

Post by BruceSteers »

So you don't have a desktop at all?
If not..
you'll need some kind of desktop (gui environment) to run a gui application

type

apt-cache search openbox

the will be a list of sessions.

lxde is minimal

sudo apt install openbox-lxde-session


If you do have a desktop , what type is it?
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
AndyGable
Posts: 363
Joined: Wednesday 2nd December 2020 12:11am
Location: Northampton, England
Contact:

Re: Qt6

Post by AndyGable »

BruceSteers wrote: Friday 22nd December 2023 2:08am So you don't have a desktop at all?
If not..
you'll need some kind of desktop (gui environment) to run a gui application

type

apt-cache search openbox

the will be a list of sessions.

lxde is minimal

sudo apt install openbox-lxde-session


If you do have a desktop , what type is it?
I have the standard OpenBox installed

I can run Gambas on the machine but i still get the error messages saying about the driver and then Gambas loads
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1578
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Qt6

Post by BruceSteers »

openbox is just a windowmanager, it's not a desktop environment.

if you read the main openbox hompage http://openbox.org/wiki/Main_Page it says all about using openbox with your "desktop environment"

without a desktop environment installed I think you can't use gambas gui applications.
(certainly not properly without errors)

(EDIT: )

Sorry i was wrong about this. see post below where i found a solution.

install openbox-lxde-session or openbox-gnome-session to get a desktop environment then your gui applications includng gambas IDE should run properly.


Or you'll just have to work out what libraries/packages are missing from the error messages.
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1578
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Qt6

Post by BruceSteers »

I've got mine working okay.

How my deb install differed to yours....
i also install xorg and not just specific parts like xserver-xorg xserver-xorg-video-fbdev xserver-xorg-video-intel

apt install xorg

installed openbox config (and qt specific version) and some things to get a working openbox environment..

apt install obconf obconf-qt firefox-esr caja mate-terminal

caja for a file browser and mate-terminal as hitting the "terminal emulator" menu in openbox didn't work.

install complete gambas to ensure all qt stuff goes in....

apt install gambas3*

sudo reboot

on boot launch x

$ startx

gambas works and so does gb.qt5
Attachments
2023-12-22-121750_800x600_scrot.png
2023-12-22-121750_800x600_scrot.png (131.1 KiB) Viewed 5582 times
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
AndyGable
Posts: 363
Joined: Wednesday 2nd December 2020 12:11am
Location: Northampton, England
Contact:

Re: Qt6

Post by AndyGable »

BruceSteers wrote: Friday 22nd December 2023 12:25pm I've got mine working okay.

How my deb install differed to yours....
i also install xorg and not just specific parts like xserver-xorg xserver-xorg-video-fbdev xserver-xorg-video-intel

apt install xorg

installed openbox config (and qt specific version) and some things to get a working openbox environment..

apt install obconf obconf-qt firefox-esr caja mate-terminal

caja for a file browser and mate-terminal as hitting the "terminal emulator" menu in openbox didn't work.

install complete gambas to ensure all qt stuff goes in....

apt install gambas3*

sudo reboot

on boot launch x

$ startx

gambas works and so does gb.qt5
So if I install xorg and openbox like you did would the system support the dual display on the computer? (I have one dvi port and one vga port)
User avatar
Technopeasant
Posts: 144
Joined: Saturday 13th July 2019 6:50pm
Location: Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: Qt6

Post by Technopeasant »

Has anyone heard anything about when or if a Qt 6 component will be added though?
Technical director,
Piga Software
http://icculus.org/piga/
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1578
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Qt6

Post by BruceSteers »

Technopeasant wrote: Thursday 7th March 2024 4:20am Has anyone heard anything about when or if a Qt 6 component will be added though?
The last commit has new gb.qt6 component.
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1578
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Qt6

Post by BruceSteers »

BruceSteers wrote: Saturday 9th March 2024 1:01pm
Technopeasant wrote: Thursday 7th March 2024 4:20am Has anyone heard anything about when or if a Qt 6 component will be added though?
The last commit has new gb.qt6 component.
It's currently only enabled for ubuntu lunar lobster

I'm working on getting it enabled for mint (ubuntu jammy)

problem seems to be the pkg config files do not get installed so the ./configure fails to find qt6 even if it's installed.

I've downloaded latest qt6 from git for a manual install as apparently creating the qt6--.pc package files was added in later versions.

I'll let you know how it goes....
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
User avatar
Technopeasant
Posts: 144
Joined: Saturday 13th July 2019 6:50pm
Location: Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: Qt6

Post by Technopeasant »

Good to know things are in motion, even if I am quite happy with Qt 5.
Technical director,
Piga Software
http://icculus.org/piga/
Post Reply