I've been making a new thing that some of you may find interesting or even useful.
it's a DBus mpris.MediaPlayer2 controller.
What i have so far..
The program opens a tray icon on launch.
Right clicking the icon shows the menus.
A menu is created for any found controlable DBus mpris players
(things like vlc, firefox (youtube), SMplayer, Spotify, many other media players)
The related players icon is shown and the menu will contain Rewind/Prev/Pause+Play/Next/Forward options.
If the player does not support Rewind/Prev/etc options the menu only shows what's supported.
Rewind and Forward menu options will go 10 seconds
also you can left click the Tray icon to open the window
In the window the players are listed with controls and a position slider (if available)
It's new and pretty untested and may give some errors yet but maybe you like the idea and it inspires you to do better
Todo:
Add Volume and other controls but i cannot get the Volume DBus command to use a Double (Float) instead of a Variable
Sort out the interface as it needs to be flashy/cool/changable
Much much much more error checking and improvements.
mpris media controller (WIP)
- BruceSteers
- Posts: 1884
- Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
- Location: Isle of Wight
- Contact:
mpris media controller (WIP)
- Attachments
-
- Screenshot at 2023-01-29 16-48-19.png (723.63 KiB) Viewed 10478 times
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
BruceS
- BruceSteers
- Posts: 1884
- Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
- Location: Isle of Wight
- Contact:
Re: mpris media controller (WIP)
Okay , updates...
I figured out Volume , also how to set LoopStatus and Shuffle
Added a signal watcher that detects DBus MPRIS events like Volume/Position changes so updates instantly.
(Seems there is no way to tell what program sent the signal so on getting notification it checks all controllers)
I removed the Info Label and put the info in a Tooltip to make it more compact
Position slider/Volume/controls will hide what's not available
Still a long way to go but it's coming along nicely
I figured out Volume , also how to set LoopStatus and Shuffle
Added a signal watcher that detects DBus MPRIS events like Volume/Position changes so updates instantly.
(Seems there is no way to tell what program sent the signal so on getting notification it checks all controllers)
I removed the Info Label and put the info in a Tooltip to make it more compact
Position slider/Volume/controls will hide what's not available
Still a long way to go but it's coming along nicely
- Attachments
-
- Screenshot at 2023-01-30 15-25-53.png (832.33 KiB) Viewed 10463 times
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
BruceS
- cogier
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1160
- Joined: Wednesday 21st September 2016 2:22pm
- Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands
Re: mpris media controller (WIP)
I have downloaded your program to see if it could help me, but it crashed.
When I clicked on the TrayIcon I got a blueish rectangle in the middle of the monitor, nothing else, just a blue rectangle. I clicked on the 'PlayerControl' button that caused the crash.
Is it me or some other issue?
When I clicked on the TrayIcon I got a blueish rectangle in the middle of the monitor, nothing else, just a blue rectangle. I clicked on the 'PlayerControl' button that caused the crash.
Is it me or some other issue?
- BruceSteers
- Posts: 1884
- Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
- Location: Isle of Wight
- Contact:
Re: mpris media controller (WIP)
hmm, I've done a few updates since and cannot get the error on Cinnamon , it seems to work (ish)
Did you have no mpris players loaded at the time? (I've since added handling to not open the window if no players exist)
Players I know of so far...
Firefox video, SMplayer, VLC, Spotify
SMplayer is not great, it always reports it's volume as 0.4 regardless what it's set to, this causes a glitch in the program i need to account for :-\
Also there seems to be a position sliding issue where sometimes the slider updates to the current position before it sets the position to somewhere else after sliding.
Did you have no mpris players loaded at the time? (I've since added handling to not open the window if no players exist)
Players I know of so far...
Firefox video, SMplayer, VLC, Spotify
SMplayer is not great, it always reports it's volume as 0.4 regardless what it's set to, this causes a glitch in the program i need to account for :-\
Also there seems to be a position sliding issue where sometimes the slider updates to the current position before it sets the position to somewhere else after sliding.
- Attachments
-
- MControl-0.0.17.tar.gz
- (19.72 KiB) Downloaded 511 times
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
BruceS
- cogier
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1160
- Joined: Wednesday 21st September 2016 2:22pm
- Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands
Re: mpris media controller (WIP)
Hi Bruce, Sorry, I am not having much luck with this.
I doesn't seem to matter what I do, nothing, other than 'Quit', appears on the menu.
I was going to try Firefox but on relaunching the program it put a 'No Entry' sign on the taskbar and the Console in Gambas announced 'gb.desktop: unable to get icon for file:'.
What I am after is to allow Mint to be able to access my program as YouTube can, through Chrome, as you can see in the second picture.
I doesn't seem to matter what I do, nothing, other than 'Quit', appears on the menu.
I was going to try Firefox but on relaunching the program it put a 'No Entry' sign on the taskbar and the Console in Gambas announced 'gb.desktop: unable to get icon for file:'.
What I am after is to allow Mint to be able to access my program as YouTube can, through Chrome, as you can see in the second picture.
- BruceSteers
- Posts: 1884
- Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
- Location: Isle of Wight
- Contact:
Re: mpris media controller (WIP)
Maybe if you give your program it's own mpris interface? then the existing controller will probably see it?
Dunno why you have problems with the program?
it works here.
Dunno why you have problems with the program?
it works here.
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
BruceS
- cogier
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1160
- Joined: Wednesday 21st September 2016 2:22pm
- Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands
Re: mpris media controller (WIP)
OK Thanks, I'll have to look into MPRIS.
- BruceSteers
- Posts: 1884
- Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
- Location: Isle of Wight
- Contact:
Re: mpris media controller (WIP)
oooh it's complicated.
So far I have a half built project that adds mpris to MediaView
My DBus experience is not good enough i think though.
I think i'll add another post about it and see if anyone can help make it work properly.
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
BruceS
- cogier
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1160
- Joined: Wednesday 21st September 2016 2:22pm
- Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands
Re: mpris media controller (WIP)
Hi Bruce, please don't go out of your way on my account. I just thought that it would be easy, which, it obviously isn't!
- BruceSteers
- Posts: 1884
- Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
- Location: Isle of Wight
- Contact:
Re: mpris media controller (WIP)
Aah but it's worth it
Did you sre my post on the m/l ?
I'm part way there
https://lists.gambas-basic.org/pipermai ... 78331.html
Did you sre my post on the m/l ?
I'm part way there
https://lists.gambas-basic.org/pipermai ... 78331.html
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
BruceS