Will Gambas ever integrate SMB so I can store my data on my server?

Post your Gambas programming questions here.
AndrewZabar

Will Gambas ever integrate SMB so I can store my data on my server?

Post by AndrewZabar »

Greetings all,

I am fairly new to Gambas, a bit less new to Linux but still not an expert. So, I prefer to keep work data on my server so that it is on a fault-tolerant system, and also so that I can open it up and work on it from any computer and always be working with the most recent version. The problem is Gambas shows only the local file system.

Now, it is my understanding that it is possible to mount an SMB folder into a local folder so that going to the local folder is really going to the SMB directory. Despite trying and troubleshooting, I have never been able to get this to work, and nobody has been able to help me get it to work. Nevertheless, even with this facility possible, many other applications are able to look to my servers. Some can only do so once I have mounted them in my system's file manager (ie: dolphin, thunar, etc.) utilizing the fact that those share it back to the rest of the OS.

My vernacular may be very inaccurate, but I think you likely get my point. So, would this be made possible anytime in the future? If not, is anyone feeling adventurous enough to help get my systems mapping my server directories in a way that they appear to be "local"?

Thanks for reading.
gbWilly

Re: Will Gambas ever integrate SMB so I can store my data on my server?

Post by gbWilly »

Now, it is my understanding that it is possible to mount an SMB folder into a local folder so that going to the local folder is really going to the SMB directory. Despite trying and troubleshooting, I have never been able to get this to work, and nobody has been able to help me get it to work
I understand you want to work on a windows network share from your linux system and want to store your gambas projects there and work on them from you linux system?