Am I missing something?

Post your Gambas programming questions here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Got2BeFree
Posts: 104
Joined: Saturday 26th November 2016 2:52am
Location: Lost

Am I missing something?

Post by Got2BeFree »

Since I've been away from Gambas for several years, I'm trying to relearn things. Some of it is coming back to me easily. Other stuff I'm struggling with, but I'm getting there. The last project I started was way back with Gambas version 3.9.x (2016) and a few minor updates through the years until version 3.12.2 (2020) where I pretty much stepped away from everything.

Now I'm starting again at version 3.18.0, and there have been a few changes with Gambas since my last project. My new project is to tile all my security cameras feeds into one mosaic that I can choose which feeds to display depending on what room I have a display in making use of a few old monitors and a few AtomicPi's(i.e. at my desk - outside cameras, bedroom - inside and outside cameras).

My first question is...
I keep finding references to a MediaPlayer, but I don't find it in the toolbox. Should I have it, or is it only created in code? I have a MediaView which is what I'm using for my project.
sholzy

I'm wondering around lost in the past, not knowing where the present is.
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1607
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Am I missing something?

Post by BruceSteers »

MediaPlayer is a gb.media component
https://gambaswiki.org/wiki/comp/gb.media

MediaView is a gb.media.form component that uses MediaPlayer to make a working GUI player
https://gambaswiki.org/wiki/comp/gb.media.form

Yes MediaPlayer is created by code and is kinda complicated but very configurable.

That's why MediaView does it for you.

have a look at the MediaView source code to see how it works.
https://gitlab.com/gambas/gambas/-/tree ... .form/.src
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
User avatar
Got2BeFree
Posts: 104
Joined: Saturday 26th November 2016 2:52am
Location: Lost

Re: Am I missing something?

Post by Got2BeFree »

Thanks, for your reply, Bruce.

Bare with me... my 62 year old brain works a little slower these days...
So, I'm not missing a MediaPlayer form in the toolbox and MediaPlayer is only created by code?

I haven't done much digging yet into the audio part of my project. Some of my security cameras have audio, but the incoming audio is choppy using the camera's encode type G711A and no sound switching to AAC. I'll work on that later.
sholzy

I'm wondering around lost in the past, not knowing where the present is.
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1607
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Am I missing something?

Post by BruceSteers »

Got2BeFree wrote: Wednesday 8th May 2024 4:35am Thanks, for your reply, Bruce.

Bare with me... my 62 year old brain works a little slower these days...
So, I'm not missing a MediaPlayer form in the toolbox and MediaPlayer is only created by code?

I haven't done much digging yet into the audio part of my project. Some of my security cameras have audio, but the incoming audio is choppy using the camera's encode type G711A and no sound switching to AAC. I'll work on that later.
Yep that's right.
In the IDE form designer the controls you can drag-n-drop are all GUI controls.

The MediaPlayer.class does not have any GUI component.

But MediaView.class does
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
User avatar
Got2BeFree
Posts: 104
Joined: Saturday 26th November 2016 2:52am
Location: Lost

Re: Am I missing something?

Post by Got2BeFree »

Thanks Bruce for sharing your knowledge. It is much appreciated by me.
sholzy

I'm wondering around lost in the past, not knowing where the present is.
Post Reply