3.20.1 has broken my Application
Re: 3.20.1 has broken my Application
mariadb is case sensitive... so a field named BigStuff will throw an error if you access it as Bigstuff, missing the capital S makes a difference as will a period. You may want to rename that field if it is not too much trouble. also if you use quotes on something it will throw the entire thing off. I wrote a sub that catches the strange characters like a quote and changes it to something else unused to store and switches it back when read. First thing is centralize all the database access to a single class so you can control it better.
-
- Regular
- Posts: 419
- Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 12:11 am
- Location: Northampton, England
- Contact:
Re: 3.20.1 has broken my Application
I have found i type a few feilds in LikeThis so I have changed themsadams54 wrote: ↑Wed Feb 05, 2025 12:43 am mariadb is case sensitive... so a field named BigStuff will throw an error if you access it as Bigstuff, missing the capital S makes a difference as will a period. You may want to rename that field if it is not too much trouble. also if you use quotes on something it will throw the entire thing off. I wrote a sub that catches the strange characters like a quote and changes it to something else unused to store and switches it back when read. First thing is centralize all the database access to a single class so you can control it better.
I assume 3.20.1 has a updated Database error handling as 3.19.5 allowed me to use the LikeThis Feilds names (I am running on my central database server of mariadb)
PLEASE can someone confirm if I make a Program in 3.20.1 on a AMD64 machine will it run with no issues on a I386 (32 bit machine)
I have 100 32bit computers that run my Debain software and I can not and will not tell customers they need to upgrade to 64bits just to run some back office applications (This was the reason I move to Debain in the first place so older hardware can still be used)
When I tryed to install 3.20.1 on my IBM ThinkPad X31 it kept saying sse_Support is not enabled on the device
-
- Legend
- Posts: 2093
- Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2020 5:20 pm
- Location: Isle of Wight
Re: 3.20.1 has broken my Application
I do not have a 32bit machine to test if it works.
if you have 100 can't you test it on one of them ?
I will say to your question that no, the is no guarantee if sse is a requirement.
you can get cpu info by installing and running cpuid, that will let you know if the cpu supports sse
my guess is the packages do not exist on those systems because they do not support sse3.
https://packages.debian.org/bookworm/i3 ... t/download
But why the updated gambas suddenly demands it i do not know.
if you have 100 can't you test it on one of them ?
I will say to your question that no, the is no guarantee if sse is a requirement.
So it seems if the 32bit machines do not support sse then sse packages will not install.google ai wrote: SSE support in Debian is handled by packages that check for the presence of Streaming SIMD Extensions (SSE) on a processor. These packages refuse to install on processors that don't have the required SSE features.
How it works
The isa-support family of packages check for SSE features like SSE3.
If a processor doesn't have the required SSE features, the package won't install.
This allows package dependencies to handle ISA requirements.
you can get cpu info by installing and running cpuid, that will let you know if the cpu supports sse
Code: Select all
$ cpuid -1|grep SSE
SSE extensions = true
SSE2 extensions = true
PNI/SSE3: Prescott New Instructions = true
SSSE3 extensions = true
SSE4.1 extensions = true
SSE4.2 extensions = true
SSE state = true
XCR0 supported: SSE state = false
https://packages.debian.org/bookworm/i3 ... t/download
But why the updated gambas suddenly demands it i do not know.
Re: 3.20.1 has broken my Application
I reported this problem in this thread on mailing list.AndyGable wrote: ↑Fri Feb 07, 2025 9:32 pm [
PLEASE can someone confirm if I make a Program in 3.20.1 on a AMD64 machine will it run with no issues on a I386 (32 bit machine)
I have 100 32bit computers that run my Debain software and I can not and will not tell customers they need to upgrade to 64bits just to run some back office applications (This was the reason I move to Debain in the first place so older hardware can still be used)
When I tryed to install 3.20.1 on my IBM ThinkPad X31 it kept saying sse_Support is not enabled on the device
It has been fixed and I have tested the fix on both Debian 11 and Debian 12 i386.
I did create binary packages for i386 on both above systems, made a file repo and installed the above fixed master version from that repo. It installs and works.
Benoit confirmed that the fix will be in the 3.20.2 release.
On possible mariadb trouble:
Gambas 3.20.x uses the new gb.db2 and db2 family of components for it's IDE dependency.
So, if things behave strange in your project, make sure to install gambas3-gb-db and its db family (this does NOT happen default probably) and make your programs explicitly depend on these. That might solve some issues.
gbWilly
- Dutch translation for Gambas3
- Gambas wiki content contributor
- Gambas debian/ubuntu package recipe contributor
- Gambas3 Debian/Ubuntu repositories
- GambOS
... there is always a Catch if things go wrong!
- Dutch translation for Gambas3
- Gambas wiki content contributor
- Gambas debian/ubuntu package recipe contributor
- Gambas3 Debian/Ubuntu repositories
- GambOS
... there is always a Catch if things go wrong!
-
- Regular
- Posts: 419
- Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 12:11 am
- Location: Northampton, England
- Contact:
Re: 3.20.1 has broken my Application
That's great news about the fix when I installed Gambas from source the sse_support was part of one of packages that get installed for building it.gbWilly wrote: ↑Fri Feb 07, 2025 11:07 pmI reported this problem in this thread on mailing list.AndyGable wrote: ↑Fri Feb 07, 2025 9:32 pm [
PLEASE can someone confirm if I make a Program in 3.20.1 on a AMD64 machine will it run with no issues on a I386 (32 bit machine)
I have 100 32bit computers that run my Debain software and I can not and will not tell customers they need to upgrade to 64bits just to run some back office applications (This was the reason I move to Debain in the first place so older hardware can still be used)
When I tryed to install 3.20.1 on my IBM ThinkPad X31 it kept saying sse_Support is not enabled on the device
It has been fixed and I have tested the fix on both Debian 11 and Debian 12 i386.
I did create binary packages for i386 on both above systems, made a file repo and installed the above fixed master version from that repo. It installs and works.
Benoit confirmed that the fix will be in the 3.20.2 release.
On possible mariadb trouble:
Gambas 3.20.x uses the new gb.db2 and db2 family of components for it's IDE dependency.
So, if things behave strange in your project, make sure to install gambas3-gb-db and its db family (this does NOT happen default probably) and make your programs explicitly depend on these. That might solve some issues.
Once 3.20.2 is available on the website I shall try that.
Re: 3.20.1 has broken my Application
Just so we are on the same page:
Code: Select all
[gb.gui.base].Splitter.DoLayout.239 #26: Division by zero
[gb.gui.base].Splitter.DoLayout.239
[gb.gui.base].Splitter.Layout_Write.338
[gb.gui.base].Splitter.MinSize_Write.525
FDbugInfo._new.57
FSearch._new.44
FMain._new.65
Project.Main.484 ?
I would attach a i386 file repository for debian11 and 12. It installs the 3.20.90 (master) version with this fix, so you could test on one of the systems. But it is not allowed as attachment, so I can't.
gbWilly
- Dutch translation for Gambas3
- Gambas wiki content contributor
- Gambas debian/ubuntu package recipe contributor
- Gambas3 Debian/Ubuntu repositories
- GambOS
... there is always a Catch if things go wrong!
- Dutch translation for Gambas3
- Gambas wiki content contributor
- Gambas debian/ubuntu package recipe contributor
- Gambas3 Debian/Ubuntu repositories
- GambOS
... there is always a Catch if things go wrong!
-
- Regular
- Posts: 419
- Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 12:11 am
- Location: Northampton, England
- Contact:
Re: 3.20.1 has broken my Application
BruceSteers wrote: ↑Fri Feb 07, 2025 10:09 pm you can get cpu info by installing and running cpuid, that will let you know if the cpu supports sseThe Packages that seem to need SSE_Support are Web packages does this mean I can not move to 3.20.2 when it comes out?Code: Select all
$ cpuid -1|grep SSE [/quote] Well i ran the CPU ID command on my IBM ThinkPad X31 and this is the result [code]$ cpuid -1|grep SSE SSE extensions = true SSE2 extensions = true PNI/SSE3: Prescott New Instructions = false SSSE3 extensions = false SSE4.1 extensions = false SSE4.2 extensions = false SSE state = false XCR0 supported: SSE state = false
-
- Regular
- Posts: 419
- Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 12:11 am
- Location: Northampton, England
- Contact:
Re: 3.20.1 has broken my Application
Well i ran the CPU ID command on my IBM ThinkPad X31 and this is the result
Code: Select all
$ cpuid -1|grep SSE
SSE extensions = true
SSE2 extensions = true
PNI/SSE3: Prescott New Instructions = false
SSSE3 extensions = false
SSE4.1 extensions = false
SSE4.2 extensions = false
SSE state = false
XCR0 supported: SSE state = false
-
- Legend
- Posts: 2093
- Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2020 5:20 pm
- Location: Isle of Wight
Re: 3.20.1 has broken my Application
you have the supported sse2 packages yes?
isa-support - CPU feature checking - common back-end (maybe)
sse2-support - CPU feature checking - require SSE2
sudo apt install sse2-support
Beyond this I am not sure what the problem might be with gambas.
You may want to report the problem on the bugtracker
isa-support - CPU feature checking - common back-end (maybe)
sse2-support - CPU feature checking - require SSE2
sudo apt install sse2-support
Beyond this I am not sure what the problem might be with gambas.
You may want to report the problem on the bugtracker
Re: 3.20.1 has broken my Application
I don't think you'll have much of a choice. They do not produce 32 bit computers any longer so your clients will have to upgrade to 64bit at some time in the very near future. 32 bit design was outdated and abandoned years ago. This means your clients are using old out of date systems already. 32 bit computers are going the way of the commodore 64 computer.
I think you are best to get them updated before they have a real catastrophe. Move them to 64 bit in a controlled way.
I think you are best to get them updated before they have a real catastrophe. Move them to 64 bit in a controlled way.