Newest of the newbie help needed please!

New to Gambas? Post your questions here. No question is too silly or too simple.
Post Reply
nypaulie
Posts: 6
Joined: Monday 16th August 2021 5:39pm

Newest of the newbie help needed please!

Post by nypaulie » Monday 16th August 2021 5:47pm

I was able to install Gambas3 via my software manager. I use Linux Mint 20.2 on a ThinkPad (T-61).
The program does not show up on my installed software menu, nor does it start if I try to use Terminal.
Any ideas? Should I remove it and try installing at the Terminal?
Any help here would be welcomed.

Paul

User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 654
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm

Re: Newest of the newbie help needed please!

Post by BruceSteers » Monday 16th August 2021 7:33pm

nypaulie wrote:
Monday 16th August 2021 5:47pm
I was able to install Gambas3 via my software manager. I use Linux Mint 20.2 on a ThinkPad (T-61).
The program does not show up on my installed software menu, nor does it start if I try to use Terminal.
Any ideas? Should I remove it and try installing at the Terminal?
Any help here would be welcomed.

Paul
I guess it didn't install if.

In terminal type gambas3

that should either not find gambas3 or show the error as to why it wont run.

if it's not found gambas3 then type this...

sudo apt-get install gambas3*

note any error messages you may get.

best of luck
Wishing well
Bruce

If at first you don't succeed , try it differently.

User avatar
cogier
Site Admin
Posts: 757
Joined: Wednesday 21st September 2016 2:22pm
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands

Re: Newest of the newbie help needed please!

Post by cogier » Tuesday 17th August 2021 9:09am

Hi nypaulie and welcome to the Forum.

The reason for your problem with Gambas is that the package in the Ubuntu/Mint Repos is broken. This is what I suggest you do.

1/. Remove Gambas in Terminal with: -

Code: Select all

 sudo apt-get -y remove gambas3
followed by: -

Code: Select all

 sudo apt-get -y purge gambas3
2/. Open Synaptic Package Manager, search for gambas3 and remove anything that is still installed.

3/. Reboot the computer.

4/. In Terminal run the following that will install the ppa and install Gambas from there: -

Code: Select all

sudo add-apt-repository -y ppa:gambas-team/gambas3 && sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get -y install gambas3
With any luck you should now have a working copy of Gambas installed. Let us know how you get on.

nypaulie
Posts: 6
Joined: Monday 16th August 2021 5:39pm

Re: Newest of the newbie help needed please!

Post by nypaulie » Tuesday 17th August 2021 2:36pm

Thank you cogier!
Success. Seemed like I had to remove dozens of files using Software Manager, but at the end I was able to run Gambas3. Started with a simple press-the-button to exit app. Now i have a ton of questions but made a good start thanks to you. No listing in my Menu, so I typed: "gambas3" as a command at Terminal to get rolling. I will reboot to see if there is a Menu listing. Thanks again.
Paul

User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 654
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm

Re: Newest of the newbie help needed please!

Post by BruceSteers » Tuesday 17th August 2021 2:37pm

cogier wrote:
Tuesday 17th August 2021 9:09am
Hi nypaulie and welcome to the Forum.

The reason for your problem with Gambas is that the package in the Ubuntu/Mint Repos is broken. This is what I suggest you do.
aah yes that one, doesn't it just fail to install gb.form.print and gambas requires it to run ?
sudo apt install gambas3-gb-form-print.

Or like you say get the latest 3.16 from launchpad, probably a better way :)
Wishing well
Bruce

If at first you don't succeed , try it differently.

User avatar
cogier
Site Admin
Posts: 757
Joined: Wednesday 21st September 2016 2:22pm
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands

Re: Newest of the newbie help needed please!

Post by cogier » Tuesday 17th August 2021 2:42pm

Great. I am glad you have it working. Gambas should be on the menu.

Image

Try some of the programs on the Gambas Farm, they will help you get started.

nypaulie
Posts: 6
Joined: Monday 16th August 2021 5:39pm

Re: Newest of the newbie help needed please!

Post by nypaulie » Tuesday 17th August 2021 3:28pm

Yes, it is now - after a reboot.
Attachments
Menu.png
Menu.png (1.14 MiB) Viewed 391 times

Post Reply