Form X. is redefined incorrect in Class FMain

New to Gambas? Post your questions here. No question is too silly or too simple.
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 654
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm

Re: Form X. is redefined incorrect in Class FMain

Post by BruceSteers » Saturday 13th February 2021 6:50pm

It's best to avoid any declaration names that objects have already.

Internal vars can have a $ prefix so $X will be no problem.

I think the error is that the FMain.class file Inherits Form and all form properties.
So X is already defined in the FMain.class. same applies to all variable names Form has.

Hope that makes sense.
Wishing well
Bruce

If at first you don't succeed , try it differently.

User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 654
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm

Re: Form X. is redefined incorrect in Class FMain

Post by BruceSteers » Saturday 13th February 2021 8:56pm

fox73 wrote:
Tuesday 09th February 2021 1:45am
Hello out there,

On debugging my source code, I've got the error message "Form X. wird in der Klasse FMain inkorrekt redefiniert"
(which should be translated into English something like "Form X. is redefined incorrect in Class FMain".

I understand this message now.
Sorry I did not before.
In English it would say
Form.x in incorrectly overridden.

Because using x tried to override the Form.x property (that your FMain.class inherits)
Wishing well
Bruce

If at first you don't succeed , try it differently.

User avatar
fox73
Posts: 7
Joined: Tuesday 09th February 2021 1:27am

Re: Form X. is redefined incorrect in Class FMain

Post by fox73 » Sunday 14th February 2021 12:30am

stevedee wrote:
Saturday 13th February 2021 6:31pm
fox73 wrote:
Saturday 13th February 2021 4:55pm
...omitting the declaration of "x" resolves the problem. So I assume that "x" is a
reserved word in GamBas - is that right?
The error says "Form.X" which would be the X property of a form called Form...which doesn't make sense.

Maybe just copy and paste the section of code that mentions Form.X.
I'd like to do, but I can't, as there is NO Form.X in my source code! Here is, where Form- or Me. are mentioned:
Public Sub Form_Open()
   Me.Show   
End
...
Public Sub btnEnde_Click()
   Me.Close   
End
Playing around I typed "Form." and then scrolled through the properties, if there would be an "X" - and got this message:
Xproperty.png
Xproperty.png (39.56 KiB) Viewed 835 times
This makes it quite clear to me, why I cannot use a variable "X" - same for "Y" which is for the top border.

So I would say: "Problem solved - thanks and have a nice Sunday."

Oops - just saw that Bruce already posted the solution. Thanks a lot.

Post Reply