Creating objects

New to Gambas? Post your questions here. No question is too silly or too simple.
Seb

Creating objects

Post by Seb »

A friendly "hello" to all fellow Gambas-users!

as a hobbyist programming beginner, I am trying to get into object-oriented programming. The aim being to be able to create programs with GUIs for Linux (in the long run).
Recently I discovered Gambas and have been playing around with objects and trying to learn their concepts and how they are created.

As I have come to understand, there seem to be different ways of how an object may be created in Gambas.
My questions are:
- When and why would I use Version 1 over the others?
- What are the implications of each version?
- Have I missed anything?

Inspired by SteveDee's great "A Dirty Guide to OOP #1" https://forum.gambas.one/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=816, I decided to also go with fruits for my examples :-)

The Fruit-Class:
' Gambas class file

Property Name As String Use sName          'shorthand syntax for declaring the properties of a class,
Property Colour As String Use sColour      'setter and getter methods are created "under the hood", using the given variables.

The Main-Module:
Version 1
' Gambas module file

Public oApple As Fruit          'declaration of the object-variable outside of Sub Main()

Public Sub Main()

oApple = New Fruit             'creation of the object inside Sub Main()

'init the fruit
  oApple.name = "Apple1"
  oApple.colour = "Green"
  'show what's happened
  Print "Name: " & oApple.Name
  Print "Colour: " & oApple.Colour
End
Version 2
' Gambas module file

Public Sub Main()

Dim oApple As New Fruit          'declaration of the object-variable and creation of the object inside of Sub Main()

'init the fruit
  oApple.name = "Apple2"
  oApple.colour = "Red"
  'show what's happened
End
Version 3 a)
'Gambas module file

Public Sub Main()
  Dim sClassName As String = "Fruit"