Debugging: Stop program if variable = value ?

New to Gambas? Post your questions here. No question is too silly or too simple.
fox73

Debugging: Stop program if variable = value ?

Post by fox73 »

Hello out there.
I am a newbie to Gambas and try to find out, if the following is possible:

While debugging, I want the program to stop/break if variable xy has a determined value.
Can you do that with the Gambas IDE?

Thanks a lot.
cogier
Site Admin

Re: Debugging: Stop program if variable = value ?

Post by cogier »

Just put a Stop in the code where you want it to stop and then highlight the variable to see its value.
Public Sub Form_Open()

Dim sDir As String[] = Dir(User.Home &/ "Pictures")

Stop

End
stevedee

Post by stevedee »

fox73 wrote: Tuesday 27th April 2021 2:30pm ...While debugging, I want the program to stop/break if variable xy has a determined value.
Can you do that with the Gambas IDE?
That's a great question.
It doesn't look like this feature is included in Gambas breakpoint options.

I did find that if you run code until it stops at a line breakpoint, the breakpoint window changes, and you get an "Add Expression" option via an eye-ball icon.
But I can't see how to use this.
GambasAddExpression.png
GambasAddExpression.png (73.84 KiB) Viewed 11114 times
Breaking on a variable value would be a valuable inclusion to the Gambas IDE. Its far more useful in some situations than a line breakpoint.

For example in this code, it would be great to be able to break when (say) x = 2000:-
  For x = 0 To 10000
    'do stuff
  Next
01McAc

Post by 01McAc »

I suppose a
if x=0 then stop
will do the trick.
fox73

Post by fox73 »

Hello cogier,
thanks for your reply. I know the possibility to place a break on a line and then display the value by clicking on the variable.
But this "hard break" is not, what I am looking for.