Compiling by hand

Post your Gambas programming questions here.
Post Reply
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1523
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Compiling by hand

Post by BruceSteers »

Hi all.
I'm trying to compile a project outside of the IDE via terminal.
I'm using the following command style (paths/names made up for clarity)...

Code: Select all

gbc3 -xa $ProjectFolderPath
gba3 ProjFolder -v -o $ProjectFolderPath/$FolderName.gambas
But it's not working right?
Anyone know of the recomended way to compile a project by hand?

Cheers :)
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
User avatar
cogier
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wednesday 21st September 2016 2:22pm
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands

Re: Compiling by hand

Post by cogier »

I got this to work in the IDE so with a little work you should be able to get it to work on the Command Line.
  Dim sFileName As String = "TestApp.gambas"
  Dim sProgramFolder As String = User.Home &/ "Dropbox/gambas/000Incomplete/TestApp"

  Shell "gbc3 -a " & sProgramFolder Wait
  Shell "cd " & sProgramFolder & " && " & "gba3 -o " &/ sProgramFolder &/ sFileName Wait
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1523
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Compiling by hand

Post by BruceSteers »

Thanks Charlie but i'm just getting the same results :(
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1523
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Compiling by hand

Post by BruceSteers »

Phew i think i've cracked it.

I had to use 'gbc3 -apm' to make all modules and controls public.
I guess the command line compile doesn't take into account some project settings and needs to be supplied manually.
Seems to be working now :)
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
Post Reply