Gambas 3.15.2 Install - Pop!_OS

Post your Gambas programming questions here.
tsmvp

Gambas 3.15.2 Install - Pop!_OS

Post by tsmvp »

Ladies/Gents,

Gambas newbie here. No matter what, I cannot get the latest Gambas to install. I tried the following:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:gambas-team/gambas3
sudo apt update
sudo apt-get install gambas3

I then get this:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:
The following packages have unmet dependencies.
gambas3 : Depends: gambas3-gb-db-postgresql (>= 3.15.2+git6080.2c36245e4+build5.da1e7df.17.76493e1~ubuntu20.04.1) but it is not going to be installed
Depends: gambas3-ide (>= 3.15.2+git6080.2c36245e4+build5.da1e7df.17.76493e1~ubuntu20.04.1) but it is not going to be installed
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.

I have no clue how to fix it. I mean I can see a library is missing and if I try to install that library manually it then tells me another library is missing, in this endless loop. For example:
The following packages have unmet dependencies.
gambas3-gb-db-postgresql : Depends: libpq5 but it is not installable
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.

Any clues on how I can get it going?

Thanks a lot!

CR
cogier
Site Admin

Re: Gambas 3.15.2 Install - Pop!_OS

Post by cogier »

Hi tsmvp and welcome to the forum.

1/. Which version of Pop!_OS are you using 20.04 or 20.10?
2/. If you are using 20.04 did you try and install Gambas from the Pop!_OS repository ('Software center' or whatever Pop!_OS calls it?) before using the ppa?
BruceSteers

Post by BruceSteers »

Hi.

try fixing apt broken packages.
sudo apt-get install --fix-broken