Web Form

For questions about Gambas web tools.
User avatar
cogier
Site Admin
Posts: 1117
Joined: Wednesday 21st September 2016 2:22pm
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands

Web Form

Post by cogier »

In the last 'Forum' we found out how to run the Web Form on a home computer but can anyone explain in detail the way to put it on the web.

Thanks
User avatar
jornmo
Site Admin
Posts: 224
Joined: Wednesday 21st September 2016 1:19pm
Location: Norway

Re: Web Form

Post by jornmo »

(Untested information)

You will need a server with Gambas installed on it. Since there are no hosting companies that provide that, you'll either have to
1. Set up a server in your own house
2. Rent a server from e.g. http://www.digitalocean.com (staring at $5/moth)

Once you've got the server up and running with Gambas, you should set up a cron job to verify that the web app is running (it could crash, and it will not restart by itself).

The way to execute your web app is:

Code: Select all

GB_HTTPD_PORT=XXX gbr3 --httpd website.gambas
Then access your server's ip from your browser, and hopefully it will work :)

(For a home server, a RaspberryPi might do)

Of cource, this information is very basic. It might be better to run it through Apache or Nginx (not sure how this is done exactly), you'll probably do better with firewall and other server hardening measures.
User avatar
jornmo
Site Admin
Posts: 224
Joined: Wednesday 21st September 2016 1:19pm
Location: Norway

Re: Web Form

Post by jornmo »

A bit info HERE to.
JFB
Posts: 3
Joined: Monday 26th September 2016 3:50am

Re: Web Form

Post by JFB »

ignorant post removed... please accept my sincere apologies... i will do better in the future... jfb
Last edited by JFB on Saturday 15th October 2016 3:54pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
gbWilly
Posts: 68
Joined: Friday 23rd September 2016 11:41am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Web Form

Post by gbWilly »

When hosting Gambas websites on Apache2 you need to understand how cgi scripting works.
See: https://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.2/howto/cgi.html

Now, if you understand this, treat gambas webpages as cgi scripts and Apache2 will know what to do with them.
So, you will need to add a 'Handler' that contains the extensions of your Gambas webpages.

I have been researching this because in future I will be needing it.
I haven't actually done or tested any of above myself, but that is what my general understanding of the matter is.

Hope this helps hosting Gambas sites using Apache2
gbWilly
- Dutch translation for Gambas3
- Gambas wiki content contributer


... there is always a Catch if things go wrong!
User avatar
jornmo
Site Admin
Posts: 224
Joined: Wednesday 21st September 2016 1:19pm
Location: Norway

Re: Web Form

Post by jornmo »

@JFB, I did not see your edit before now. I am glad you recanted!

Thank you willy! This will also be helpful for me in the future I can manage to complete my CMS written in Gambas :)
User avatar
gbWilly
Posts: 68
Joined: Friday 23rd September 2016 11:41am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Web Form

Post by gbWilly »

CMS in Gambas.... Looking forward to seeing that ;)
gbWilly
- Dutch translation for Gambas3
- Gambas wiki content contributer


... there is always a Catch if things go wrong!
User avatar
jornmo
Site Admin
Posts: 224
Joined: Wednesday 21st September 2016 1:19pm
Location: Norway

Re: Web Form

Post by jornmo »

Haha! Well, don't get your hopes up just yet :)
User avatar
gambix
Posts: 5
Joined: Sunday 25th September 2016 5:51pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Web Form

Post by gambix »

You have an example of gambas CMS here :


http://gambasforge.org


The code is here :
https://sourceforge.net/projects/gambas ... =directory
:-P
User avatar
jornmo
Site Admin
Posts: 224
Joined: Wednesday 21st September 2016 1:19pm
Location: Norway

Re: Web Form

Post by jornmo »

Wow! That's very impressive! I've seen the site before, but had no clue it was made with Gambas... I sure need to look at the code and see what you guys have been up to. Good job :!:
Post Reply