Scrollview display error

Ask about the individual Gambas components here.
Post Reply
PartierSP
Posts: 57
Joined: Tuesday 30th November 2021 12:14am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Scrollview display error

Post by PartierSP »

I've had this issue for a couple of weeks but haven't had a chance to look at it until this past weekend. I placed a scrollview on a tab within a form and some of the components would appear outside of the tab if they were scrolled outside of the scrollview limits. I showed screen shots of this error on this post.

I have also created a simple form where this error would occure:

Code: Select all

# Gambas Form File 3.0

{ Form Form
  MoveScaled(0,0,46,44)
  { TabPanel1 TabPanel
    MoveScaled(2,2,39,37)
    Index = 0
    Text = ("TabPanel1")
    { ScrollView1 ScrollView
      MoveScaled(2,2,34,29)
      { Panel1 Panel
        MoveScaled(1,2,30,42)
        { Label1 Label
          MoveScaled(2,2,11,6)
          Text = ("Hello World")
        }
        { TextBox1 TextBox
          MoveScaled(14,2,13,5)
        }
        { SpinBox1 SpinBox
          MoveScaled(14,8,13,5)
        }
        { ComboBox1 ComboBox
          MoveScaled(1,9,12,4)
        }
      }
    }
    Index = 0
  }
}
The only way I was able to 'Fix' this was to set the Tablet option to True. But according to the Gambas Wiki, this doesn't make any sense at all as this is only dealing with events from a tablet's touch screen to be converted to mouse events. Any idea what's going on? Am I just missing something entirely?

I'm running this on Mint Linux 20 Ulyana with Cinnamon 4.6.7. My laptop does not have a touch screen.
Attachments
Tests.zip
(13.95 KiB) Downloaded 316 times
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1505
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Scrollview display error

Post by BruceSteers »

PartierSP wrote: Tuesday 21st December 2021 12:06am I've had this issue for a couple of weeks but haven't had a chance to look at it until this past weekend. I placed a scrollview on a tab within a form and some of the components would appear outside of the tab if they were scrolled outside of the scrollview limits. I showed screen shots of this error on this post.

I have also created a simple form where this error would occure:

Code: Select all

# Gambas Form File 3.0

{ Form Form
  MoveScaled(0,0,46,44)
  { TabPanel1 TabPanel
    MoveScaled(2,2,39,37)
    Index = 0
    Text = ("TabPanel1")
    { ScrollView1 ScrollView
      MoveScaled(2,2,34,29)
      { Panel1 Panel
        MoveScaled(1,2,30,42)
        { Label1 Label
          MoveScaled(2,2,11,6)
          Text = ("Hello World")
        }
        { TextBox1 TextBox
          MoveScaled(14,2,13,5)
        }
        { SpinBox1 SpinBox
          MoveScaled(14,8,13,5)
        }
        { ComboBox1 ComboBox
          MoveScaled(1,9,12,4)
        }
      }
    }
    Index = 0
  }
}
The only way I was able to 'Fix' this was to set the Tablet option to True. But according to the Gambas Wiki, this doesn't make any sense at all as this is only dealing with events from a tablet's touch screen to be converted to mouse events. Any idea what's going on? Am I just missing something entirely?

I'm running this on Mint Linux 20 Ulyana with Cinnamon 4.6.7. My laptop does not have a touch screen.
Are you using the latest development Gambas version?
I reported a bug similar to this on the bug-tracker and it was recently fixed (bug 2407)
i cannot find a problem with your test program (gambas 3.16.90 dev branch) so maybe it's fixed now?
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
PartierSP
Posts: 57
Joined: Tuesday 30th November 2021 12:14am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Scrollview display error

Post by PartierSP »

Thanks for testing this out Bruce.

That must be it. I'm using my package manager's version, 3.14.3-2ubuntu3.1. So it appears I'm well behind the current version. I'll look at updating when I get home tonight and trying it out again. :)
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1505
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Scrollview display error

Post by BruceSteers »

PartierSP wrote: Tuesday 21st December 2021 2:11am Thanks for testing this out Bruce.

That must be it. I'm using my package manager's version, 3.14.3-2ubuntu3.1. So it appears I'm well behind the current version. I'll look at updating when I get home tonight and trying it out again. :)
Yeah simple on ubuntu based systems..
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:gambas-team/gambas3  # For latest stable version (will not have this scrollview fix yet)
# Or...
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:gambas-team/gambas-daily  # For latest dev version

# then....
sudo apt-get remove "gambas3*"  # remove all installed old gambas files
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install gambas3
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
User avatar
cogier
Site Admin
Posts: 1117
Joined: Wednesday 21st September 2016 2:22pm
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands

Re: Scrollview display error

Post by cogier »

I have a one liner that will do it: -

Code: Select all

sudo add-apt-repository -y ppa:gambas-team/gambas3 && sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get -y install gambas3
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1505
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Scrollview display error

Post by BruceSteers »

cogier wrote: Tuesday 21st December 2021 3:04pm I have a one liner that will do it: -

Code: Select all

sudo add-apt-repository -y ppa:gambas-team/gambas3 && sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get -y install gambas3
hehe , how about a choice of stable or dev branch even? ;)

Code: Select all

BRANCH=""; ANS=$(zenity --question --text="Install which gambas?" --ok-label="Stable" --extra-button="Development" --cancel-label="Cancel"); if [ $? -eq 0 ]; then BRANCH="gambas3"; elif [ "$ANS" == "" ]; then echo "cancel"; else BRANCH="gambas-daily"; fi; if [ "$BRANCH" != "" ]; then sudo add-apt-repository -y ppa:gambas-team/$BRANCH && sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get -y install gambas3; fi
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
PartierSP
Posts: 57
Joined: Tuesday 30th November 2021 12:14am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Scrollview display error

Post by PartierSP »

Lol! Thanks guys. But I don't think I'm worthy of the one liners! :o

That works much better now. Don't need Tablet=true any more. I noticed a few other tweaks in the rendering of my program right away. Going to have some fun playing with it tonight.

BTW, you will want to add apt-get remove "gambas3*" to those one liners. Ended up with a bit of a mess until I got everything removed before reinstalling.
Post Reply