is there a tuturial for dynamic control creation

Ask about the individual Gambas components here.
sadams54

is there a tuturial for dynamic control creation

Post by sadams54 »

I am totally new to dynamically creating controls. what I have to do is create about a dozen controls and events for controls in a tab panel. I also have to create multiple tabs in that panel each with about a dozen controls and event handlers. I could use a good tuturial on how to do this.
BruceSteers

Re: is there a tuturial for dynamic control creation

Post by BruceSteers »

I'm not exactly sure what you need exactly when you say "dynamic control creation" but maybe this helps.

If you mean adding controls to your form with code then that's not too hard.

consider this code...

Private $hButton As Button

Public Sub Form_Open()

$hButton = New Button(MyButtonPanel) As "MyButton"
$hButton.Text = "New Button"
$hButton.AutoResize = True

End

Public Sub MyButton_Click()

Print "Button got clicked"

End

Or this code...

Public Sub Form_Open()

Dim sNames As String[] = ["Fred", "Sally", "Bob"]
  Dim $hButton As Button

For Each s As String In sNames

With $hButton = New Button(MyButtonPanel) As "MyButton"
      .Text = s
      .AutoResize = True
      .Name = s
    End With

Next

End

Public Sub MyButton_Click()

Print "button clicked was";; Last.Name 

End

Notice in the last example i used With / End With to save typing the button name all the time.

That will create 3 buttons that all use the same event handler MyButton_Click()
you can use Last.Name to get the name of the button

That should get you started :)
I used a couple of different methods there.
the 1st example uses a global $hButton variable, the other does not.
A lot of times you do not need a global variable as you can get the button using the Last keyword in the handler.
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
sadams54

Post by sadams54 »