3.20.1 has broken my Application

Post your Gambas programming questions here.
AndyGable
Regular
Posts: 419
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 12:11 am
Location: Northampton, England
Contact:

Re: 3.20.1 has broken my Application

Post by AndyGable »

sadams54 wrote: Wed Feb 19, 2025 9:29 pm I don't think you'll have much of a choice. They do not produce 32 bit computers any longer so your clients will have to upgrade to 64bit at some time in the very near future. 32 bit design was outdated and abandoned years ago. This means your clients are using old out of date systems already. 32 bit computers are going the way of the commodore 64 computer.

I think you are best to get them updated before they have a real catastrophe. Move them to 64 bit in a controlled way.
My clients are running NCR 7456 base units with 2GB Ram and Debian 11 32bit at the moment.

I know we have to move to 64bit at some point but at the moment the customers machines are working fine (I plan to move to 64bit when the machine start dying)

The other issue I have is I can get a full system from my supplier in Norway and this includes the Dynakey customer display and base unit (but these are 32bit machines unless someone can tell me if it's possible to update the CPU to 64bit)
AndyGable
Regular
Posts: 419
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 12:11 am
Location: Northampton, England
Contact:

Re: 3.20.1 has broken my Application

Post by AndyGable »

Does anyone know what

Division by zero (#26).

[gb.gui.base].Splitter.DoLayout.239

I've updated to 3.20.1 but not installed qt6 as that was what making my issues on a 32bit machine.

I ran the command gambas3 in the terminal and I have the following show

Code: Select all

(org.gambas.7117:7117): GLib-GIO-CRITICAL **: 23:40:26.126: g_dbus_connection_emit_signal: assertion 'G_IS_DBUS_CONNECTION (connection)' failed

(org.gambas.7117:7117): GLib-GIO-CRITICAL **: 23:40:26.128: g_dbus_connection_emit_signal: assertion 'G_IS_DBUS_CONNECTION (connection)' failed

(org.gambas.7117:7117): GLib-GIO-CRITICAL **: 23:40:26.184: g_dbus_connection_emit_signal: assertion 'G_IS_DBUS_CONNECTION (connection)' failed

(org.gambas.7117:7117): GLib-GIO-CRITICAL **: 23:40:26.237: g_dbus_connection_emit_signal: assertion 'G_IS_DBUS_CONNECTION (connection)' failed

(org.gambas.7117:7117): GLib-GIO-CRITICAL **: 23:40:26.238: g_dbus_connection_emit_signal: assertion 'G_IS_DBUS_CONNECTION (connection)' failed

(org.gambas.7117:7117): GLib-GIO-CRITICAL **: 23:40:26.240: g_dbus_connection_emit_signal: assertion 'G_IS_DBUS_CONNECTION (connection)' failed
[gb.gui.base].Splitter.DoLayout.239: #26: Division by zero
[gb.gui.base].Splitter.DoLayout.239 [gb.gui.base].Splitter.Layout_Write.338 [gb.gui.base].Splitter.MinSize_Write.525 FDebugInfo._new.57 FSearch._new.44 FMain._new.65 Project.Main.484 ? 
If someone does know how I can fix this please let me know.
User avatar
gbWilly
Site Admin
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 11:41 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 3.20.1 has broken my Application

Post by gbWilly »

AndyGable wrote: Tue Feb 25, 2025 11:38 pm Does anyone know what

Division by zero (#26).

[gb.gui.base].Splitter.DoLayout.239

I've updated to 3.20.1 but not installed qt6 as that was what making my issues on a 32bit machine.
...
If someone does know how I can fix this please let me know.
Andy,

Look back to this post
gbWilly wrote: Wed Feb 12, 2025 5:47 pm
AndyGable wrote: Sat Feb 08, 2025 8:45 am That's great news about the fix when I installed Gambas from source the sse_support was part of one of packages that get installed for building it.

Once 3.20.2 is available on the website I shall try that.
Just so we are on the same page:

Code: Select all

[gb.gui.base].Splitter.DoLayout.239 #26: Division by zero
[gb.gui.base].Splitter.DoLayout.239 
[gb.gui.base].Splitter.Layout_Write.338 
[gb.gui.base].Splitter.MinSize_Write.525
FDbugInfo._new.57
FSearch._new.44
FMain._new.65
Project.Main.484 ?
This above issue has been fixed. I have not encountered the sse support problem.

I would attach a i386 file repository for debian11 and 12. It installs the 3.20.90 (master) version with this fix, so you could test on one of the systems. But it is not allowed as attachment, so I can't.
The fix is in the 3.20.2 release. 3.20.2 has been release a few day back, so knock yourself out and enjoy.
gbWilly
- Dutch translation for Gambas3
- Gambas wiki content contributor
- Gambas debian/ubuntu package recipe contributor
- Gambas3 Debian/Ubuntu repositories

- GambOS

... there is always a Catch if things go wrong!
AndyGable
Regular
Posts: 419
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 12:11 am
Location: Northampton, England
Contact:

Re: 3.20.1 has broken my Application

Post by AndyGable »

gbWilly wrote: Tue Mar 11, 2025 5:24 pm The fix is in the 3.20.2 release. 3.20.2 has been release a few day back, so knock yourself out and enjoy.
Hi All,
I have installed 3.20.2 on to my 32bit IBM ThinkPad and it works (all I had to do was remove any reference the QT6 as this was what making the sse support issue)

I have also Installed 3.20.2 on to my Development PC (64bit) and it Sort of works

I have a exit code that runs this

Code: Select all

Public Sub btnReturnToSaleMode_Click()
    If Global.BeepOnKeyPress = "Yes" Then SystemFunctions.PCSpeakerBleep(500)
    Dim DisplayMessage As String = Null
    
     DisplayMessage = Null
    DisplayMessage &= "Please confirm your wish to return to Sales mode"
    
    If Global.ShowSyncReminder = "Yes" Then 
        DisplayMessage &= gb.crlf & gb.crlf & gb.crlf 
        DisplayMessage &= "If you have done any changes to the database please" & gb.crlf 
        DisplayMessage &= "Remeber to sync the PoS for the changes to be applied" & gb.crlf 
        DisplayMessage &= gb.crlf 
        DisplayMessage &= "Signed off menu -> User Menu -> Database Menu"
    End If

    Me.Enabled = False
    With frmQuestionBO
        .labFunction.Caption = "SignOffQuestion"
        .labSystemMessage.Caption = DisplayMessage
    End With
    frmbackground.Workspace1.Add(frmQuestionBO, 0)
End
In 3.19.5 it works fine But now in 3.20.2 it disables the menu form but will not show the frmQuestionBO (do I need to bring it to the front or something)
and this seems to be ONLY when the code is run from the development environment
User avatar
gbWilly
Site Admin
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 11:41 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 3.20.1 has broken my Application

Post by gbWilly »

AndyGable wrote: Thu Mar 13, 2025 11:09 am In 3.19.5 it works fine But now in 3.20.2 it disables the menu form but will not show the frmQuestionBO (do I need to bring it to the front or something)
and this seems to be ONLY when the code is run from the development environment
I have no idea what is going on but there where some changes from 3.19 to 3.20 in workspace:

Code: Select all

Workspace
    Disable menu shortcuts in design mode.
    Select is a new event that is raised when the user clicks on a tab button, even if it is the current one.
    Find() is a new method that returns the position of a specific Workspace window.
    The second argument of Add() is now the position where the new window must be inserted. If not specified, the window is inserted at the end.
    Adding a window at a specific position should work better now.
    Update Italian translation.
    Update Dutch translation.
    Update documentation. 

See: https://gambaswiki.org/wiki/doc/release/3.20.0#t113

And if you develop your POS system for company environments, why go with latest gambas. Develop on a certain version and keep your IMB's at that version (of both debian and gambas3) for a, by you, determined period (like until the POS software is feature finished for example), so you don't get into this trouble.

I, for example, have migrated a complete suite of software I wrote (running on XP), from a mix of vb/vba/ms access to gambas3/mysql later mariadb. I had Gambas 3.6.2 running at that time (2013) on Mint Mate 17 clients and my re coding of all was feature finished somewhere in 2017. So, yes I stayed on same Gambas version for 4 years, before even looking at upgrading to a higher version and I did backport a feature to Gambas 3.6.2 from a later release that I really needed. The headless servers at that time, run Debian 7 or 8 (don't remeber exactly) and run Gambas 3.6.2 daemons as well. Before the debian servers, I run a Windows 2003 server with Active Directory.

I currently run gambas 3.18.4 (since dec '23) on Debian 12 Mate clients (bye bye to first Ubuntu and now even the Ubuntu based OSes with their crap). The servers have been upgraded a few times and are on debian11 ATM, this all in a company. I plan to stay there for a about a year or 3 ( so till somewhere in 2026 when debian 13 will be out for about a year and has been proven stable long enough) before going to a newer version of Gambas3 and Debian. So, no surprises there when gambas has an update as it doesn't affect my running software in company environment. Stability over the latest and greatest when it comes to work situations is my strategy to keep me from wasting my time. My software runs 24/7 and I can't afford it breaking because of some changes to gambas3 (no need to go out late night to solve some unneeded shit because of an update).

I do test most of the company software against a newer release now and then. Somewhere in 2026 I will do a distribution upgrade and a gambas upgrade but not before having it all tested. I run my own repository with gambas3 and if there are fixes to problems in gambas3 that I need, I simply backport them to my 3.18.4 version, so I do not miss out on what I really need.

So, in short: Ensuring yourself that you are in control of the environment you run your software in saves you a lot of trouble, time and work.

My 2 cents,
gbWilly
- Dutch translation for Gambas3
- Gambas wiki content contributor
- Gambas debian/ubuntu package recipe contributor
- Gambas3 Debian/Ubuntu repositories

- GambOS

... there is always a Catch if things go wrong!
AndyGable
Regular
Posts: 419
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 12:11 am
Location: Northampton, England
Contact:

Re: 3.20.1 has broken my Application

Post by AndyGable »

gbWilly wrote: Fri Mar 14, 2025 3:45 pm
AndyGable wrote: Thu Mar 13, 2025 11:09 am In 3.19.5 it works fine But now in 3.20.2 it disables the menu form but will not show the frmQuestionBO (do I need to bring it to the front or something)
and this seems to be ONLY when the code is run from the development environment
I have no idea what is going on but there where some changes from 3.19 to 3.20 in workspace:

Code: Select all

Workspace
    Disable menu shortcuts in design mode.
    Select is a new event that is raised when the user clicks on a tab button, even if it is the current one.
    Find() is a new method that returns the position of a specific Workspace window.
    The second argument of Add() is now the position where the new window must be inserted. If not specified, the window is inserted at the end.
    Adding a window at a specific position should work better now.
    Update Italian translation.
    Update Dutch translation.
    Update documentation. 

See: https://gambaswiki.org/wiki/doc/release/3.20.0#t113

And if you develop your POS system for company environments, why go with latest gambas. Develop on a certain version and keep your IMB's at that version (of both debian and gambas3) for a, by you, determined period (like until the POS software is feature finished for example), so you don't get into this trouble.

I, for example, have migrated a complete suite of software I wrote (running on XP), from a mix of vb/vba/ms access to gambas3/mysql later mariadb. I had Gambas 3.6.2 running at that time (2013) on Mint Mate 17 clients and my re coding of all was feature finished somewhere in 2017. So, yes I stayed on same Gambas version for 4 years, before even looking at upgrading to a higher version and I did backport a feature to Gambas 3.6.2 from a later release that I really needed. The headless servers at that time, run Debian 7 or 8 (don't remeber exactly) and run Gambas 3.6.2 daemons as well. Before the debian servers, I run a Windows 2003 server with Active Directory.

I currently run gambas 3.18.4 (since dec '23) on Debian 12 Mate clients (bye bye to first Ubuntu and now even the Ubuntu based OSes with their crap). The servers have been upgraded a few times and are on debian11 ATM, this all in a company. I plan to stay there for a about a year or 3 ( so till somewhere in 2026 when debian 13 will be out for about a year and has been proven stable long enough) before going to a newer version of Gambas3 and Debian. So, no surprises there when gambas has an update as it doesn't affect my running software in company environment. Stability over the latest and greatest when it comes to work situations is my strategy to keep me from wasting my time. My software runs 24/7 and I can't afford it breaking because of some changes to gambas3 (no need to go out late night to solve some unneeded shit because of an update).

I do test most of the company software against a newer release now and then. Somewhere in 2026 I will do a distribution upgrade and a gambas upgrade but not before having it all tested. I run my own repository with gambas3 and if there are fixes to problems in gambas3 that I need, I simply backport them to my 3.18.4 version, so I do not miss out on what I really need.

So, in short: Ensuring yourself that you are in control of the environment you run your software in saves you a lot of trouble, time and work.

My 2 cents,
Thank you for that I never considered keeping on one version of Gambas (I think beause I've been using windows vb.net for so long and having updates pushed down I was thinking it was the only way)

I will be using on the main development machine for now 3.19.5 and on one of my laptops I would have 3.20.2 or what ever the new version is so I can test that code as well.

I've got to admit using Linux for my EPoS is some much easier then Windows.

And I have decided to stay with Debian 12 on the PoS until it is no longer supported and then mode to like you Debian 13.

Thanks for the advise I have taken it in and will actually be implementing this.

I will only update unless there is an issue.
User avatar
gbWilly
Site Admin
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 11:41 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 3.20.1 has broken my Application

Post by gbWilly »

AndyGable wrote: Fri Mar 14, 2025 9:20 pm Thank you for that I never considered keeping on one version of Gambas (I think beause I've been using windows vb.net for so long and having updates pushed down I was thinking it was the only way)

I will be using on the main development machine for now 3.19.5 and on one of my laptops I would have 3.20.2 or what ever the new version is so I can test that code as well.
Your welcome. The great thing about linux is that YOU are in control. No unexpected trouble if you don't want to.

Is there a reason you go for 3.19.5. I tend to take the highest avialable version within the series, so 3.18 has .4 relase as last one, so the most fixed and stable one of the 3.18 series. It would make more sense to go for gambas 3.19.6 in your case, as that is the last one in the 3.19 series.

If you have trouble setting it up, I have file repositories for 3.19.6, holding binaries for debian 11 (amd64 and i386) and debain 12 (amd64, arm64 and i386) and several ubuntu's (amd64 only). It is a matter of downloading and extracting an archive and running a script to install it on the system. This way you are guaranteed of no outside interference (like with a ppa or osb that update to newer versions).

Here you will find an overview of available gambas3 repositories and for what ubuntu/debian versions and architectures. On that page you can click to download the archive you wand (a tar.xz) and the page also provides a link to instructions on how to setup the repsoitory. I made it really easy to install, so you should be good after reading the instructions.
AndyGable wrote: Fri Mar 14, 2025 9:20 pm I've got to admit using Linux for my EPoS is some much easier then Windows.

And I have decided to stay with Debian 12 on the PoS until it is no longer supported and then mode to like you Debian 13.
I have running debian servers for over 12 years now in one company situation and over 9 years in another. They have been distri upgraded several time over (the oldest started at debian 7) and they never gave me trouble. Before I had Windows server 2003 runnung with XP clients and well... let's just say I won't be going there... ;)

I am so glad I left the nightmare called Windows and traded it in for Linux. So much more freedom, access to stuff and most important stability and speed.

Enjoy...
gbWilly
- Dutch translation for Gambas3
- Gambas wiki content contributor
- Gambas debian/ubuntu package recipe contributor
- Gambas3 Debian/Ubuntu repositories

- GambOS

... there is always a Catch if things go wrong!
AndyGable
Regular
Posts: 419
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 12:11 am
Location: Northampton, England
Contact:

Re: 3.20.1 has broken my Application

Post by AndyGable »

gbWilly wrote: Sat Mar 15, 2025 10:59 pm I am so glad I left the nightmare called Windows and traded it in for Linux. So much more freedom, access to stuff and most important stability and speed.

Enjoy...
I am glad I made to call to move my EPoS system to Linux (still have a few bugs in the hardware support module to iron out but I will get there)

Not also does Linux still support i386 machines they are not memory hungry like any of the Windows versions (the last good one I use to sell and install was Windows 2000)

I only used 3.19.5 as I could not get 3.19.6 from the Gambas website at the time.

I do like the new layout to the IDE with 3.20.2 but I'm still trying to figure out the workspace.add thing as I'm still having the issue of it now showing correctly if I have a form that is disabled showed and then try to show another form (when running form in the IDE (not sure if this is a bug in the ide or if I've not done something right)
Post Reply