Problem with installing gambas3

Post your Gambas programming questions here.
Post Reply
bill-lancaster
Posts: 190
Joined: Tuesday 26th September 2017 3:17pm
Location: NW England

Problem with installing gambas3

Post by bill-lancaster »

I found that my gambas3 ide was behaving strangely, couldn't view console, keyboard hanging up etc.
Decided to reinstall with:-

Code: Select all

sudo apt update, 
then

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install gambas3
but get these messages:-

Code: Select all

bill@bill-Vostro-3470:~$ sudo apt-get install gambas3
[sudo] password for bill: 
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree... Done
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies.
 gambas3-ide : Depends: gambas3-gb-jit (>= 3.16.3-3) but it is not installable
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken package
Kubuntu 22.04

Help needed!

Thanks
User avatar
cogier
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wednesday 21st September 2016 2:22pm
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands

Re: Problem with installing gambas3

Post by cogier »

As usual, the Gambas package on Ubuntu is faulty.

I suggest you load Synaptic, mark all the 'gambas3' files and delete them, it is important that you get rid of all of them. Once done, run the following command in Terminal: -

Code: Select all

sudo add-apt-repository -y ppa:gambas-team/gambas3 && sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get -y install gambas3
This will load the Gambas ppa and install Gambas from there. Any 'Stable' updates available will also be installed when you do your normal system updates.
bill-lancaster
Posts: 190
Joined: Tuesday 26th September 2017 3:17pm
Location: NW England

Re: Problem with installing gambas3

Post by bill-lancaster »

Thank you cogier, gambas is running again.
ide console still missing though.
F11 does nothing.
Any ideas?
User avatar
cogier
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wednesday 21st September 2016 2:22pm
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands

Re: Problem with installing gambas3

Post by cogier »

F11 does nothing.
Any ideas?
No, but, what happens if you 'Print' something? That opens it automatically.
bill-lancaster
Posts: 190
Joined: Tuesday 26th September 2017 3:17pm
Location: NW England

Re: Problem with installing gambas3

Post by bill-lancaster »

No 'Print' shows nothing.
I see a post by BruceSteers on 05th February 2023 where he says:-
Find something like the following text in $HOME/.config/gambas3/gambas3.conf

Code: Select all

[FMain]
Geometry=[12,59,1219,849,0,0]
panProject=[False,293,True,False]
panProperty=[False,265,True,False]
panDebug=[True,350,True,False]

Change the second True of panDebug to false.

There is a bug, you must not select transparent handles and auto-hide together for debug panel.

Change panDebug Boolean settings manually to fix it.
I've changed this setting but still no debug console
bill-lancaster
Posts: 190
Joined: Tuesday 26th September 2017 3:17pm
Location: NW England

Re: Problem with installing gambas3

Post by bill-lancaster »

Looking very closely, its possible that the console has shrunk to zero height!
Right click on that area produced a message saying that the console is set to 'invisible', selected set to 'visible' and console now shows.
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1521
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Problem with installing gambas3

Post by BruceSteers »

bill-lancaster wrote: Tuesday 4th April 2023 9:52am Looking very closely, its possible that the console has shrunk to zero height!
Right click on that area produced a message saying that the console is set to 'invisible', selected set to 'visible' and console now shows.
Yes be sure you do not have "auto-hide" and "transparent handles" selected together.

there's a bug in sidepanel.
I offered a fix for Benoit but he didn't do it.

I think the bug is in the Hidden_Write method of SidePanel.class

The method looks like this...
Private Sub Hidden_Write(bHidden As Boolean)
  
  If $hForm.IsAutoHide() Then Return
  $hForm.SetHidden(bHidden)
  
End


I commented out the first line that returns if Auto-Hide is true so the panel can unhide on command event if auto-hide is set.

Not had a problem since. :)
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
bill-lancaster
Posts: 190
Joined: Tuesday 26th September 2017 3:17pm
Location: NW England

Re: Problem with installing gambas3

Post by bill-lancaster »

Thanks Bruce-all is well now.
Bill
Post Reply