Gambas3 IDE startup fails after updates

New to Gambas? Post your questions here. No question is too silly or too simple.
Post Reply
RupertReynolds
Posts: 4
Joined: Sunday 31st December 2023 6:32pm

Gambas3 IDE startup fails after updates

Post by RupertReynolds »

I just got to like Gambas3, then it stopped running. I think the only change was updating Fedora 38 to 39. Same problems from both the default GNOME desktop, and the 'GNOME classic' desktop.

Any suggestions please on how to get it running under my own username, and how to avoid problems in future?

Framework 13th gen Intel, Fedora 39. Doesn't start from the GUI menus, or from CLI :-

Code: Select all

[roopid@fedora ~]$ gambas3
[gb.jit].CCompilation.Run.83: #68: Cannot run child process: cannot run executable: No such file or directory
[gb.jit].CCompilation.Run.83 [gb.jit].Jit._Compile.143 ?


I just tried sudo and the IDE starts OK and seems to be running correctly :-

Code: Select all

[roopid@fedora ~]$ sudo gambas3 &
[6] 10096
[5]   Done                    sudo gambas3
[roopid@fedora ~]$ 
but I don't see sudo as a long term solution :lol:

Roops
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1579
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Gambas3 IDE startup fails after updates

Post by BruceSteers »

bad link?

try
which gambas3
is it
/usr/bin/gambas3

ls -l /usr/bin/gambas3
is it..
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 14 Dec 23 00:12 /usr/bin/gambas3 -> gambas3.gambas

does it load okay if you type
gambas3.gambas

It certainly a problem your end and not something common we are familiar with.
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
RupertReynolds
Posts: 4
Joined: Sunday 31st December 2023 6:32pm

Re: Gambas3 IDE startup fails after updates

Post by RupertReynolds »

This all looks OK to me. both files are +r and +x for all users.

Code: Select all

[roopid@fedora ~]$ which gambas3
/usr/bin/gambas3
[roopid@fedora ~]$ ls -l /usr/bin/gambas3
lrwxrwxrwx. 1 root root 14 Aug  7 01:00 /usr/bin/gambas3 -> gambas3.gambas
[roopid@fedora ~]$ ls -l /usr/bin/gambas3.gambas
-rwxr-xr-x. 1 root root 6432588 Aug  7 01:00 /usr/bin/gambas3.gambas
[roopid@fedora ~]$ 
RupertReynolds
Posts: 4
Joined: Sunday 31st December 2023 6:32pm

Re: Gambas3 IDE startup fails after updates

Post by RupertReynolds »

I also tried a dnf reinstall.

dnf info shows Source : gambas3-3.18.3-2.fc39.src.rpm and I can't see anything out of the ordinary.

Hmm...

Roops

Code: Select all

[roopid@fedora ~]$ dnf info gambas3-ide.x86_64
Last metadata expiration check: 0:18:40 ago on Tue 02 Jan 2024 16:07:33 GMT.
Installed Packages
Name         : gambas3-ide
Version      : 3.18.3
Release      : 2.fc39
Architecture : x86_64
Size         : 6.1 M
Source       : gambas3-3.18.3-2.fc39.src.rpm
Repository   : @System
From repo    : fedora
Summary      : The complete Gambas3 Development Environment
URL          : http://gambas.sourceforge.net/
License      : GPL+
Description  : This package includes the complete Gambas3 Development Environment.
             : It pulls in the Gambas3 components necessary for the IDE to function.

[roopid@fedora ~]$ 

User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1579
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Gambas3 IDE startup fails after updates

Post by BruceSteers »

The issue seems to be JIT related.

you could try the env setting GB_NO_JIT = true

env GB_NO_JIT=true gambas3

if it works you could set an alias in /etc/profile.
alias gambas3='env GB_NO_JIT=true gambas3'

I had a similar issue when i changed my /tmp folder to be a tmpfs ramdisk. It broke gambas JIT so i stopped making /tmp a ramdisk.

Not sure why your gambas JIT is broken but at least it can be bypassed.
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1579
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Gambas3 IDE startup fails after updates

Post by BruceSteers »

did you install all gambas components?

is gambas3-gb-jit installed?
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
RupertReynolds
Posts: 4
Joined: Sunday 31st December 2023 6:32pm

Re: Gambas3 IDE startup fails after updates

Post by RupertReynolds »

I defined a new User and gambas3 seems to be working fine there.

I still don't know what broke it, but as long as it work...

Thanks for the suggestions :-)

Roops
Post Reply