Trouble with the debugger in 3.18

Post your Gambas programming questions here.
Post Reply
Ham13
Posts: 19
Joined: Friday 24th June 2022 2:11pm

Trouble with the debugger in 3.18

Post by Ham13 »

Hello,

I have Gambas running in VirtualBox 7 on a Windows 10 PC. I recently upgraded Gambas from 3.17 to 3.18. No I have a problem with the debugger.
The problem occurs with the ComboBox and the FileChooser. I have used these controls before with no problems. Now the code below
, Produces the attached message. It occurs with refernces to the FileChooser and the Combobox. Eg. Me.FileChooser1.Root = "/home/marty" or Me.ComboBox1.List.ReadOnly = True and other references to those components. Funny thing is when I run the project in the debugger without setting a breakpoint it executes perfectly. If I set a breakpoint (F9) the debugger give the attached error message on each reference to the control except the line Me.FileChooser1.Visible = True. I know that FileChooser has been changed in 3.18. What is the cause of the error and what can I do to eliminate it. Right now I can not get through a debug session without commenting out the lines it does not like.

Thanks

' Gambas class file

Private strFile_Path As String
Private strFile_Name As String
Private strCommand As String
Private intResult As Integer
Private $Result As Result
Private strdb As String
Private strTable As String

Public Sub Form_Open()

Dim Table As String
Dim Query As String

Me.Caption = "Backup Manager"
Me.FileChooser1.Root = "/home/marty"
Me.FileChooser1.Filter = ["*.sql", "sql Files", "*.*", "All Files"]
Me.FileChooser1.ShowButton = True
Me.FileChooser1.Visible = True
Me.FileChooser1.ReadOnly = True
Me.ComboBox1.Visible = True
Me.ComboBox1.List.ReadOnly = True
Me.ComboBox1.Text = "Table"
Me.lblWhat.Text = "Restore Database/Table"

' Get table names for table restore
Query = "SELECT table_name As Name FROM information_schema.tables WHERE table_schema='HOA_Data';"
$Result = modMain.$Con.Exec(Query)
$Result.MoveFirst
If $Result.Available Then
For Each $Result
If Left$($Result!Name, 3) = "tbl" Then
Me.ComboBox1.Add($Result!Name)
'Print $Result!Name
Endif
Next
Endif

End
Attachments
Error message screen shot
Error message screen shot
Screenshot at 2023-02-07 11-34-47.png (45.46 KiB) Viewed 1601 times
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1565
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Trouble with the debugger in 3.18

Post by BruceSteers »

I think you posted the wrong picture
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1565
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Trouble with the debugger in 3.18

Post by BruceSteers »

a Filechooser.Root bug has just been fixed in the dev branch..

https://gitlab.com/gambas/gambas/-/comm ... c54317a55b
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
Ham13
Posts: 19
Joined: Friday 24th June 2022 2:11pm

Re: Trouble with the debugger in 3.18

Post by Ham13 »

Bruce,

Thank you for your reponse!. The picture is the correct one. The two I get are the one I posted and one refering to gb.form.
I'll take a look at the reported bug and see if that solves my problem.

Thanks
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1565
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Trouble with the debugger in 3.18

Post by BruceSteers »

Ahh I think i see,
That is just the new component loader dialog.

New to gambas is the debugger can go further than your own code and can show debug info going on in other components.
But it needs the source code,
You have clicked on a gb.gui.base item in the debug browser and it is asking where the source for gb.gui.base is located so it can load it and work with it.

If you just want your own source debugged keep your eye our in the debugger window for what objects you are wanting to debug.
and if you open that window by accident just close it again :)
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
Ham13
Posts: 19
Joined: Friday 24th June 2022 2:11pm

Re: Trouble with the debugger in 3.18

Post by Ham13 »

Thanks, Bruce. I knew it had to be something with the debugger. Got it fixed now.

Regards,
Marty
Post Reply