[Sloved] Migrating from 3.15 to 3.18 Problems

Post your Gambas programming questions here.
AndyGable
Posts: 363
Joined: Wednesday 2nd December 2020 12:11am
Location: Northampton, England
Contact:

[Sloved] Migrating from 3.15 to 3.18 Problems

Post by AndyGable »

Hi Everyone

Not sure if I am doingh something wrong but I am having a problem I am trying to update from 3.15 to 3.18 on Debian (from the back port)

but when I do i get a issue where NON of my key input works

in 3.15 I can set focus to the form with in a workspace and it works fine but in 3.18 the form is not getting any input.

I have uninstalled 3.15 and installed a clean 3.18 but that has not sorted the problem

Any advise would be most welcomed (as I have a few applications that uses keyboard input)

Kind regards

Andrew
Last edited by AndyGable on Friday 14th July 2023 3:31pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
cogier
Site Admin
Posts: 1127
Joined: Wednesday 21st September 2016 2:22pm
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands

Re: Migrating from 3.15 to 3.18 Problems

Post by cogier »

Have you tried recompiling your program(s)? Project>Compile All
AndyGable
Posts: 363
Joined: Wednesday 2nd December 2020 12:11am
Location: Northampton, England
Contact:

Re: Migrating from 3.15 to 3.18 Problems

Post by AndyGable »

Hi Cogier,

Sorry for the delay i was trying what you (Had to wait to get into the office to try this) said and this is what I found

If I have a textbox on the screen then the Program will respond to keyboard input but if it is via the form Keypress it does not respond

I have even tried to capture the key.code to see what it is sending but this is not even working (and yes I have done a compile all)

I had to change the GTK as it was saying the one I was using was not available (so I selected gb.gkt3) recompiled it and ran the program and still nothing

Any ideas what this could be as I can not really upgrade to Debian 12 if None of my Keyboard based applications do not work

Andy
User avatar
cogier
Site Admin
Posts: 1127
Joined: Wednesday 21st September 2016 2:22pm
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands

Re: Migrating from 3.15 to 3.18 Problems

Post by cogier »

I have done some testing and all seems to work as I would expect. Can you post some example code, so I/we can see what you are trying to do?
AndyGable
Posts: 363
Joined: Wednesday 2nd December 2020 12:11am
Location: Northampton, England
Contact:

Re: Migrating from 3.15 to 3.18 Problems

Post by AndyGable »

Public Sub Form_KeyPress()

    Select Case Key.Code
        Case Global.Key_SignOn ' lower case A
            frmbackground.Workspace1.CloseAll
            frmbackground.Workspace1.Add(FrmSignOn, 0)

        Case Global.Key_PriceCheck
            frmPriceCheck_1.labCallingForm.Text = "frmSignedOff"
            frmbackground.Workspace1.CloseAll
            frmbackground.Workspace1.Add(frmPriceCheck_1, 0)

        Case Global.Key_UserMenu
            frmbackground.Workspace1.CloseAll
            frmbackground.Workspace1.Add(frmSignedOffMenu, 0)
        
    End Select

End


The keys are defined as below
Public Key_SignOn As Integer = 65                'A
Public Key_PriceCheck As Integer = 67                'C
Public Key_UserMenu As Integer = 69                'E


This is the code I am using on my signed off screen

This works fine in 3.15 but when I move it to 3.18 it does not work at all
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1578
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Migrating from 3.15 to 3.18 Problems

Post by BruceSteers »

AndyGable wrote: Thursday 13th July 2023 4:20pm
Public Sub Form_KeyPress()

    Select Case Key.Code
        Case Global.Key_SignOn ' lower case A
            frmbackground.Workspace1.CloseAll
            frmbackground.Workspace1.Add(FrmSignOn, 0)

        Case Global.Key_PriceCheck
            frmPriceCheck_1.labCallingForm.Text = "frmSignedOff"
            frmbackground.Workspace1.CloseAll
            frmbackground.Workspace1.Add(frmPriceCheck_1, 0)

        Case Global.Key_UserMenu
            frmbackground.Workspace1.CloseAll
            frmbackground.Workspace1.Add(frmSignedOffMenu, 0)
        
    End Select

End


The keys are defined as below
Public Key_SignOn As Integer = 65                'A
Public Key_PriceCheck As Integer = 67                'C
Public Key_UserMenu As Integer = 69                'E


This is the code I am using on my signed off screen

This works fine in 3.15 but when I move it to 3.18 it does not work at all
have you tried using Key[] for the integers, you should not rely on code values

Public Key_SignOn As Integer
Public Key_PriceCheck As Integer
Public Key_UserMenu As Integer

Public Sub _new()
  Key_SignOn = Key["A"]
  Key_PriceCheck = Key["C"]
  Key_UserMenu= Key["E"]
End

If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1578
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Migrating from 3.15 to 3.18 Problems

Post by BruceSteers »

something will be getting the keypress

maybe the active control needs to relay it to Form_KeyPress()

I assume the different gambas versions are on different machines.

If so post the gambas system information from both machines so we might get a hint as to what the problem may be.
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
AndyGable
Posts: 363
Joined: Wednesday 2nd December 2020 12:11am
Location: Northampton, England
Contact:

Re: Migrating from 3.15 to 3.18 Problems

Post by AndyGable »

System informtion Request

the only differance between the machines is one is a 32 bit install the other is a 64bit install BUT this is the same when I installed 3.18.0 on my 32 bit machine (I have gone back to the 3.15.2 that is in the normal apt install at the moment)

Development PC
[System]
Gambas=3.15.2
OperatingSystem=Linux
Kernel=5.10.0-23-686-pae
Architecture=x86
Distribution=debian 11.7
Desktop=XFCE
Theme=fusion
Language=en_GB.UTF-8
Memory=2976M

[Libraries]
Cairo=libcairo.so.2.11600.0
Curl=libcurl.so.4.7.0
DBus=libdbus-1.so.3.19.15
GDK2=libgdk-x11-2.0.so.0.2400.33
GDK3=libgdk-3.so.0.2404.20
GStreamer=libgstreamer-1.0.so.0.1804.0
GTK+2=libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0.2400.33
GTK+3=libgtk-3.so.0.2404.20
OpenGL=libGL.so.1.7.0
Poppler=libpoppler.so.102.0.0
QT5=libQt5Core.so.5.15.2
SQLite=libsqlite3.so.0.8.6

[Environment]
DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS=unix:path=/run/user/1000/bus
DESKTOP_SESSION=lightdm-xsession
DISPLAY=:0.0
GB_GUI=gb.qt5
GDMSESSION=lightdm-xsession
GTK_MODULES=gail:atk-bridge
HOME=<home>
LANG=en_GB.UTF-8
LANGUAGE=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_ALL=en_GB.UTF-8
LOGNAME=<user>
PATH=/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/local/games:/usr/games
PWD=<home>
QT_ACCESSIBILITY=1
QT_LOGGING_RULES=*.debug=false
SESSION_MANAGER=local/<hostname>:@/tmp/.ICE-unix/958,unix/<hostname>:/tmp/.ICE-unix/958
SHELL=/bin/bash
SSH_AGENT_PID=1001
SSH_AUTH_SOCK=/tmp/ssh-d0qqHzdAtzst/agent.958
TZ=:/etc/localtime
USER=<user>
XAUTHORITY=<home>/.Xauthority
XDG_CONFIG_DIRS=/etc/xdg
XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP=XFCE
XDG_DATA_DIRS=/usr/share/xfce4:/usr/local/share/:/usr/share/:/usr/share
XDG_GREETER_DATA_DIR=/var/lib/lightdm/data/<user>
XDG_MENU_PREFIX=xfce-
XDG_RUNTIME_DIR=/run/user/1000
XDG_SEAT=seat0
XDG_SEAT_PATH=/org/freedesktop/DisplayManager/Seat0
XDG_SESSION_CLASS=user
XDG_SESSION_DESKTOP=lightdm-xsession
XDG_SESSION_ID=2
XDG_SESSION_PATH=/org/freedesktop/DisplayManager/Session0
XDG_SESSION_TYPE=x11
XDG_VTNR=7


Laptop Running Debian 11 3.18.0

[System]
Gambas=3.18
OperatingSystem=Linux
Kernel=5.10.0-23-amd64
Architecture=x86_64
Distribution=debian 11.7
Desktop=XFCE
Font=Inconsolata,10,Bold
Scale=7
Theme=xfce
Language=en_GB.UTF-8
Memory=1844M

[Programs]
gcc=gcc (Debian 10.2.1-6) 10.2.1 20210110

[Libraries]
Cairo=libcairo.so.2.11600.0
Curl=libcurl.so.4.7.0
DBus=libdbus-1.so.3.19.15
GDK2=libgdk-x11-2.0.so.0.2400.33
GDK3=libgdk-3.so.0.2404.20
GStreamer=libgstreamer-1.0.so.0.1804.0
GTK+2=libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0.2400.33
GTK+3=libgtk-3.so.0.2404.20
OpenGL=libGL.so.1.7.0
Poppler=libpoppler.so.102.0.0
RSvg=librsvg-2.so.2.47.0
SQLite=libsqlite3.so.0.8.6

[Environment]
DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS=unix:path=/run/user/1000/bus
DESKTOP_SESSION=lightdm-xsession
DISPLAY=:0.0
GB_GUI=gb.gtk3
GDMSESSION=lightdm-xsession
GTK_MODULES=gail:atk-bridge
HOME=<home>
LANG=en_GB.UTF-8
LANGUAGE=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_ALL=en_GB.UTF-8
LOGNAME=<user>
PATH=/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/local/games:/usr/games
PWD=<home>
QT_ACCESSIBILITY=1
QT_LOGGING_RULES=*.debug=false
SESSION_MANAGER=local/<hostname>:@/tmp/.ICE-unix/909,unix/<hostname>:/tmp/.ICE-unix/909
SHELL=/bin/bash
SSH_AGENT_PID=952
SSH_AUTH_SOCK=/tmp/ssh-XKWRkb92kbDg/agent.909
TZ=:/etc/localtime
USER=<user>
XAUTHORITY=<home>/.Xauthority
XDG_CONFIG_DIRS=/etc/xdg
XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP=XFCE
XDG_DATA_DIRS=/usr/share/xfce4:/usr/local/share/:/usr/share/:/usr/share
XDG_GREETER_DATA_DIR=/var/lib/lightdm/data/<user>
XDG_MENU_PREFIX=xfce-
XDG_RUNTIME_DIR=/run/user/1000
XDG_SEAT=seat0
XDG_SEAT_PATH=/org/freedesktop/DisplayManager/Seat0
XDG_SESSION_CLASS=user
XDG_SESSION_DESKTOP=lightdm-xsession
XDG_SESSION_ID=5
XDG_SESSION_PATH=/org/freedesktop/DisplayManager/Session1
XDG_SESSION_TYPE=x11
XDG_VTNR=7
AndyGable
Posts: 363
Joined: Wednesday 2nd December 2020 12:11am
Location: Northampton, England
Contact:

Re: Migrating from 3.15 to 3.18 Problems

Post by AndyGable »

I just noticed I do not have qt5 installed on the 64bit machine and I can not find a way to install it

does anyone know how I can install qt5?
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1578
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Migrating from 3.15 to 3.18 Problems

Post by BruceSteers »

AndyGable wrote: Thursday 13th July 2023 7:38pm I just noticed I do not have qt5 installed on the 64bit machine and I can not find a way to install it

does anyone know how I can install qt5?
it should be in the same repository

actually is "should" be installed.

maybe

sudo apt install libqt5core5a

or load synaptic package manager and search for qt5 stuff
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
Post Reply