Export an old Gambas app to a new system

New to Gambas? Post your questions here. No question is too silly or too simple.
Post Reply
samy-AirLivre1
Posts: 1
Joined: Wednesday 4th October 2023 10:17am

Export an old Gambas app to a new system

Post by samy-AirLivre1 »

Hello, I would like to have some help concerning the port of a Gambas application installed on a dated Linux distribution to an up to date one.
The system is a Mageia 5, and impossible to update.
I tried exporting the application as an installation package for Fedora 38 and OpenSuse Tumbleweed/Leap. The installation went well, but when I launched it, I had some development problems, which I'm a total novice at.
I simply wanted to update the workstations to a more recent version of the system. I thought of doing an AppImage or a Flatpak but it was also complicated with this old version of Mageia (2015/2016).

Here's the info on the version of Gambas3 installed on Mageia 5:

Code: Select all

[System]
Gambas=3.6.2
OperatingSystem=Linux
Kernel=4.4.114-server-1.mga5
Architecture=x86
Distribution=Mageia 5
Desktop=KDE4
Theme=Oxygen
Language=fr_FR.UTF-8
Memory=3905M

[Libraries]
Cairo=libcairo.so.2.11400.0
Curl=libcurl.so.4.3.0
DBus=libdbus-1.so.3.8.14
GStreamer=libgstreamer-0.10.so.0.30.0
GStreamer=libgstreamer-1.0.so.0.403.0
GTK+3=libgtk-3.so.0.1400.8
GTK+=libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0.2400.26
OpenGL=libGL.so.1.2.0
Poppler=libpoppler.so.46.0.0
Qt4=libQtCore.so.4.8.6
SDL=libSDL-1.2.so.0.11.4
And here's the error I encounter when installing on a more recent version of Linux (Fedora 38):

Image

It's highly likely that other errors of this type will occur if this one is corrected. No doubt linked to less permissive libraries or syntax changes in Gambas3 version 3.6.2 to 3.18.3. I tried to install the installation packages generated via the 2 versions without success.

Thanks in advance
Attachments
Necobase-Project-src-Gambas3.zip
(9.7 MiB) Downloaded 102 times
necobase-error.png
necobase-error.png (39.08 KiB) Viewed 3127 times
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1579
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Export an old Gambas app to a new system

Post by BruceSteers »

I would simply transfer the source folder to the machine with newer gambas and load the project into the IDE.
Project/Make source archive


Then test and remake the executable from the more recent IDE.
that should help you to find any syntax errors.
Also making an installation package may work better with the more recent gambas.
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
vuott
Posts: 263
Joined: Wednesday 5th April 2017 6:07pm
Location: European Union

Re: Export an old Gambas app to a new system

Post by vuott »

I replaced the following Components:
- "gb.qt4" with "gb.gui.qt"
- "gb.sdl.sound" with "gb.sdl2.sound"
- "gb.report" with "gb.report2"

When starting the project, I got no errors. (My distro: Linux Mint)
However, :? I didn't try everything else.
Europaeus sum !

Amare memorentes atque deflentes ad mortem silenter labimur.
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1579
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Export an old Gambas app to a new system

Post by BruceSteers »

Aah yes that will do it.

Newer systems use qt5 and do not have qt4

Using gb.gui.qt is much better than explicitly using a Qt version, it will stop that error ever happening again.

Seems like you've figured it out 8-)
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
User avatar
cogier
Site Admin
Posts: 1127
Joined: Wednesday 21st September 2016 2:22pm
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands

Re: Export an old Gambas app to a new system

Post by cogier »

Like vuott I managed to get the program to run with minor changes on Linux Mint 21.2 with Gambas 3.18.4

Image

There are a lot of unused functions and variables, this is only one page!

Image

I think the error you are getting is to do with a Database that was not supplied.

Try this:-
NecobaseG3-0.99.41(2023).tar.gz
(1.69 MiB) Downloaded 123 times
Post Reply