Is it me or is it a bug

Questions and info about the Gambas IDE itself and not what you are making with it.
(not bug reports)
User avatar
sadams54
Posts: 172
Joined: Monday 9th July 2018 3:43am
Contact:

Is it me or is it a bug

Post by sadams54 »

I have upgraded to version 3.19.4 when I try to f5 a project I get this error.. Image

nothing has changed except the IDE

ownership and permissions are fine... in fact permissions are 0777
Attachments
Screenshot from 2024-10-22 16-35-29.png
Screenshot from 2024-10-22 16-35-29.png (21.22 KiB) Viewed 1393 times
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1931
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Is it me or is it a bug

Post by BruceSteers »

It's not one i have seen.

It must be a problem your end.
ownership maybe ?

sudo chown -R $USER:$USER /project/path
EDIT: oops sorry i see you said ownership is okay.

can you use the "make project archive" option and unpack archive to a new location or "Save project As" to see if a newly made folder works?
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1931
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Is it me or is it a bug

Post by BruceSteers »

Star trek related by any chance? :)
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
User avatar
sadams54
Posts: 172
Joined: Monday 9th July 2018 3:43am
Contact:

Re: Is it me or is it a bug

Post by sadams54 »

sort of trek related... LCARS is Linux Computer Automated Residential System.. It is a computer management platform that allows me to control and execute programs on various computers without bothering the user but I can affect them. It is able to run over internet and run anything that you can do from a terminal and return results. Also writing an android version that has full voice control and responses. so for example I can say start {computer name} and the command is routed to a computer capable of the command and start the computer using WOL. I can issue shutdowns and create macros. Do updates and see results. Send messages and even shut down misbehaving programs on demand. ssh is not used, all commands are executed locally by LCARS.

Also I tried your idea and it did not work. Same error, but I have found that the issue happens when I use a network drive to work with. If I put the files on the local PC it works fine. All of my stuff is on a central server so I can work from any connected PC without worry of having to sync anything or update stuff. So I am thinking a glitch in gambas IDE that only comes up when operating over a samba network. You know more than I do so tell me what you think? both subjects.
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1931
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Is it me or is it a bug

Post by BruceSteers »

Ahh so on the first point , does it look like the user panels on a federation star ship ?
I assume you know the touch panel interface seen in star trek is called LCARS?

But sounds like a cool program. :)


I've heard of other people having problems with network nas drives.
looks like you'll have to copy the application folder to your local machine to work on it then copy is back after :(
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
User avatar
sadams54
Posts: 172
Joined: Monday 9th July 2018 3:43am
Contact:

Re: Is it me or is it a bug

Post by sadams54 »

I am familiar with the lcars interface but I am not looking to recreate that. I am looking to recreate most of the underlying functionality and once speech to text is able to be run locally it will have voice interface. It uses festival to talk back to you when needed at the moment. once android version is done, that one uses the phone or tablet interface for speech to text and in testing it works so nice. I can speak the command and hit a button and it happens at the location specified. I do have a GUI that you can customize and the pattern follows you anyplace you log in even over internet. But my main thing was voice interface. All the GUI does is build the command and passes it to the area you would type or speak at. they work interchangeably.

Point #2, :? not thrilled with that solution, but maybe it will be fixed in another version. Until then I can use that band-aid and try to not screw it up. I already use that solution for the windows programming because they don't work over network well. Guess I will set up Rsync to handle that on each station I use for gambas. I will put in a bug report for the issue. Thing is that it was working perfectly until update.
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1931
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Is it me or is it a bug

Post by BruceSteers »

So according to Benoit the only change is the permission setting

in the older gambas when saving the project it would save files but remove any permission setting you may have set (like +x on a script file)
Because it uses Open and Write the file is written as new so any permission settings were lost.

Now it notes file permissions first and then sets them after saving the new file.

And this is what is now failing on the network drive.

It does not sound like he knows why , but that seems to be the problem.
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
User avatar
sadams54
Posts: 172
Joined: Monday 9th July 2018 3:43am
Contact:

Re: Is it me or is it a bug

Post by sadams54 »

he told me I have to adjust samba to allow for file permission changing, but I do not think that is possible. I have 777 read write execute, set so hoping he clarifies his statement for me. I did ask for clarification. Maybe something can be done. I much prefer to fix the problems myself than rely on any other person to do it for me. I just hate having to wait if it is something I can handle. But sometimes you just have no choice.
User avatar
BruceSteers
Posts: 1931
Joined: Thursday 23rd July 2020 5:20pm
Location: Isle of Wight
Contact:

Re: Is it me or is it a bug

Post by BruceSteers »

can you chmod okay?

This is pretty much how the save function works in gambas.


Dim sFileCopy As String = "~/.bashrc"
Dim sNetworkFilePath As String = "/your-network/path/.bashrc"

Dim sAuth As String = Stat(sFileCopy).Auth

Debug sAuth

Copy sFileCopy To sNetworkFilePath
Chmod sNetworkFilePath To Sauth



Then it does some VersionControl stuff.

The way to tell where gambas is failing is to run the gambas IDE and then open the gambas IDE source in the IDE.
Then run it (F5)
Then open your project and try to save it,
Then when you get the error the 1st IDE will be in debug mode and you can find exactly where the problem is with breakpoints and step debugging.

Hope that helps
If at first you don't succeed , try doing something differently.
BruceS
User avatar
sadams54
Posts: 172
Joined: Monday 9th July 2018 3:43am
Contact:

Re: Is it me or is it a bug

Post by sadams54 »

I will give that a try when I get a chance. At the moment I have my head in android programming. I am making a version of my gambas LCARS in android.

will I be able to correct the IDE programming so the error goes away (assuming I can find the cause)?
Post Reply